Rainforest Elfling || Character Development

in #art5 years ago (edited)

As Z's adventure leads us deeper into the rainforest, I thought it was time to develop some "fairy-like" beings. These rainforest spirits are usually harmless, but tend to be mischievous in nature -- as a curious child would pull on a kitten's tail. Most often than not, they aid travelers lost in the rainforest, helping them find their way back. Yet if they sense darkness in the intruder's heart, they will only lead them deeper and deeper into the bowels of the vegetative beast.


IMG_1233.jpg

I'm happy with the final designs. I did two minor variations (with sharper features and markings, and without), which could be a way to distinguish status (such as warrior and child) or simply age.

The image below was my first attempt at these beings. It felt like a good first step but it needed further development. For instance, I removed a few “human” traits like the ears and mouth. These creatures don’t speak or eat so mouth seemed unnecessary. I’m also happier with the new proportions; they feel less clunky to me.


002104A9-278D-413B-9163-C2E14A35356E.JPG


Process video and some works-in-progress below.
(If using the Partiko app, you can watch video here.)


IMG_3395.jpg
IMG_3396.jpg
IMG_3397.jpg


Drawn on Procreate for the iPad Pro.

To buy a comic, stickers or limited edition copy of my work, please visit my snazzy shop.

More of Z's adventures to come!

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

These guys are so adorable :) I have included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

aww thank you!! :D

These are super cool. I love when flesh/ghostly bits float upward.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha thanks! Yeah I love that kind stuff. I started messing with it when I drew the “Ikaro Unleashed” one (posted a few days ago) and had all those fleshy/goopey dollops floating up! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

So adorable and whimsical. I can imagine them animating.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aww thanks! I would animate them if it didn’t take me forever haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

🎂!!

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Really cute. I use procreate myself since couple of months, great app :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44