Owl. My sketchbook artwork

in #art5 years ago

When I was very small, I had some time for fairy tales. Usually lunch. My appetite was bad, so my grandmother always read me fairy tales while eating.
Combining vegetables and fairy tales was much more fun. ☺️

irqypzj69i.jpg

I remember my grandmother's story about insomnia, which looked like a very scary old woman. She walked through the sky all night and looked into the windows to look at young children. As small as I am.

If the old woman saw that one of the babies was not sleeping, then she took him with her forever.

vf18jaocrr.jpg

Sometimes this old woman could transform into a huge owl. And through the curtains one could see her evil eyes burning in the dark.

This marked the beginning of my fear. I was very afraid of owls. They were always presented to me as very mysterious and mystical birds.

But adult life is not a fairy tale. Our fantasies and fears are constantly dying or being replaced by something good.
So it was with me too) A family of owls settled in front of my house. They made amazing sounds that were amplified at night. According to their voices, it was even possible to predict the weather) If there is strong wind and rain ahead, owls are always silent.

p0dzx6dy8e.jpg

I went to the thickets of trees many times to find their home. Several times I managed to see them very well. I just could not help but share this with you and not capture their image in my sketchbook.

In my opinion it turned out great and not at all scary, is not it?)

All images of this publication belong to me.

Sort:  

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 65. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The owl is beautiful. It almost looks textured it is so good. My husband and I laughed at your grandmas story. It’s amazing what our parents and grandparents used to tell us. Haha… great post !

Oh yeah! I myself am amused by this)) Grandma still has a whole bunch of such stories)) I think, now it becomes clear to me why I’ve never been afraid of horror movies after such stories)))

What a beautiful job @extractum-lunae! I love the story behind it too; that story would have terrified me as well as a child. I'm glad you have a lovely family of owls now to show you differently :)

Thank you to @celinavisaez for featuring your post in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry too :)

thank you very much! I think now it becomes clear to me why after such stories I was never afraid of horror movies anymore))) I had a lot of fears in childhood, but I am glad that in my life I have cases that help me cope with them!

Wow, those details!! So neaaat. And aaawww, you have overcome your fear by drawing it. I do have fears too and they are hard to face. So proud of you. :D

Thank you very much friend))
I always felt that the best way to get rid of my fears is to look them straight in the face. It always helps me))
And what are your fears?

That is really well done! You captured every detail,... lines, shading,... excellent.

Thank you very much) It seems worth spending more time on drawings of animals and birds (this is very fun))

Hola @extractum-lunae! hermosa obra de arte, gracias por compartir, la usare en el concurso de @pifc, un abrazo

Thank you very much!))

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Fantastic drawing and interesting story! I love owls and learning about other culture's myths, so I really enjoyed this post! :)

Thank you friend))
Contact) I know a lot of myths and I can happily tell you)) Only if you have small children or you suddenly plan their appearance in your life, do not follow the example of my grandmother - do not tell them these tempting scary stories))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49