Hanna the little witchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

There is more to this forest than friendly fauns. Earlier you had the opportunity to meet Henna the faunette. Here is her best friend Hanna the little witch.

I had this idea a long time ago that I wanted to make an animated series. It was a story of two very different girls who became friends. I was reminded of it by this great post by Fumansiu, since it features a girl and antlers.
I was going to call it Henna and Hanna, but since 3dmodelleing (and especially animation and rigging) is enormously timeconsuming I am still not finished with even the basic storyboards. I do however have rigged models of both of the main characters.
This one is Hanna, a small human witch who spent most of her time gathering herbs in the forest. Thats where she meets Henna

I modelled several versions of her : smiling lifting eyebrows puffing her cheeks etc and then i set about making a facial rig for her. you can see the control layer here

and here, These little controls are the ones an animator would drag around to create the animation

it makes it much less complicated to animate when you have these controls. underneath is a bewildering setup of bones and morphtargets so it is really nice to be able to completely ignore that part and just animate.

I have also made a small animation. nothing big just checking if everything works. I might make a longer version later on

Everything is made from scratch by me both modelling , rigging animation and render setup.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

@evilhippie,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curation Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Great work on the animation! You're very talented with the digital artwork. I really like that you show it in progress in the post. Keep it up, and keep sharing your art with us on Steemit!

Please Reply and I will nominate your post to the curation team for possible extra votes and Steemit exposure!

I accept. Thank you for your interest. I am glad you like it.

Awesome, i nominated you today, Be watching @ocd tomorrow to see if you're featured in the OCD Daily! Keep up the great work with the digital art @evilhippie!

Nice character design for Hanna!
This sounds like a promising/interesting story,
I will wait for further updates!

Now that you have reminded me,
I'm always forgetting to group the objects properly,
no wonder that I'm often lost in my own creations.

How did you create the hair?
Did you use planes + textures on them?

Thanks. I actually used a normal hair particle system. I just set the shape to be very thick, the weight to be small and the stiffness to be fairly high. In my experience thats by far the easiest way to achieve semirealistic movement. also there are quite few hairs so most of them are interpolated children. That means less calculations for the simulation and much better performance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59403.33
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38