Early childhood inspirations

in #art6 years ago


In my creative work I tend to consciously steer away from any obvious references to other artists work. I am never really comfortable with doing fan art or similar stuff.

source: wikimedia commons
I work it and work it, combine it with other references or inspirations until I am satisfied that it is no longer obvious where my inspiration comes from.
I dont know whyI feel that urge. It is probably a form of vanity , in that I want it to be my own work entirely.
Despite my best effort, when I revisit old work I sometimes see that my carefully hidden inspirations are all too obvious.
One of these instances , and one that I am not particualrly embarassed about is the images of John Bauer. Above is my absolute favourite "Ännu sitter Tuvstarr kvar och ser ner i vatnett" which tranlates to "Still Tuvstarr sits gazing into the water" .
Bauer was a Swedish artist and illustrator who lived from 1882 to 1918 . Read more here He is very well known in sweden and as a small kid (1-5 years old) I lived in sweden.
Reproductions of his paintings was everywhere and I grew up with them. I particularly remember the one above and then this one :

source: wikimedia commons
In my recent work I have actually done something fairly close to a piece of fan art, or at least an homage to John Bauers image which is called "God kväll Farbror hälsade pojken" which roughly translates to "good evening Uncle , the boy said"
In sweden the term Farbror (which literally means brother of my father) is used when talking to any man older than oneself, I suppose as a show of respect or something.
John Bauer made a lot of images of trolls and children with a sombre swedish forest backdrop. I am totally in love with his toned down colours and his polite monsters.
Anyways my homage was a miniature. Now available at Shapeways here.. It is not very like bauers troll but if you see them side by side it is quite obvious , I think, where i have the inspiration from.
It is made the usual way, and I will probably make a post about the process


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

Elf comparisons
Butchery

Sort:  

I was familiar with the art, but not the artist. I'm not sure where I would have seen it; as a fourth-generation Swedish-American, I might have seen it from a family member's collection, but my family would have already been in the States by the time Bauer completed his work. Maybe I saw it in an art class.

In any case, this is a fantastic informative article, and a great homage to an iconic artist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55