A skull pillbox designed, modelled and 3dprintedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skulltitle.png

As part of My PhD I made a model of a human skeleton, or part of a human skeleton. I needed it for some muscle simulations that I was developing and since I was trying to get it published at a computer-graphics conference, I needed some nice looking images. I tried finding models on the web but they where either not very detailed or cost a small fortune.
Thus I set about making my own.
Luckily it is comparatively easy to find free anatomical images so I found a few of these, set them as background in my blender modellign window and got a decent looking skull and shoulder complex in a few days of work.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skull_early01.jpg

http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skull_early02.jpg
I further refined this and got it textured in a simple way which looked sufficiently convincing for me to use it.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/slantskull.jpg

Fast forward a couple of years and I was the proud owner of an "Ultimaker 2" 3d printer.
I decided to make a print of my 3dskull and set about trying to make it printfriendly.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skullwip02.jpg
This turned out to be harder than I thought but after a few hours of frustrating work I got a usable hollowed out skull.
Then I cut the skull in two (still in Blender) and patched the ends, got them laid out for print and even made a small rim so that the top couldnt slide off the skull.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skullprint1.jpg
The printer did the rest with very little resistance. at this time at had made a few prints and was getting to know the quirks of my printer, so I managed to get a very nice and detailed print with no hickups.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skullprint.jpg
Emboldened by this success I even went ahead and did my so far biggest print. A dice holder skull. I had to make a small piece of Vertebra to act as a base for this since it would otherwise fall over all the time.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/skullprint2.jpg

It turned out very nice, and was subsequently painted gold to make it even more corny.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me check out my introduction post here All the images and 3dmodels in this post is made by me.

Sort:  

I'm so impressed with how unique the shape is - maybe a little stylized? The brushed silver looks like a good quality cast metal. The mod work must have taken some time.

Good luck with the paper.

Thank you. Yes it took some time. it always does. 3d modelling is not for impatient people. the nice thing is that I can make any number of copies an scaling and modification is easy compared with hand modelling. The plastic used for this print had a really nice finish. unfortunately i have run out. the one i use now is not quite as nice.

O man! Do I understand that! I hate when I have the dilemma of using the last of my best supplies on a really great project then having another favorite project come along. Looking forward to seeing more from you!

and thanks for the celery :-)

This is soo cool! I've been staying far away from 3D until I have some mastery of 2D but this makes me wanna jump in (I want to make cool stuff now). Thanks for sharing your process, it must've taken you countless hours. Respect

Hm I am probably not the right person to pitch that idea to(or maybe I am). because my main motivation is always learning new skills , so I would say go for it

oh and thanks :-)

That is an impressive amount of detail,
that you have used there @evilhippie !

I'm personally still far away from that degree of quality,
but I hope that I can reach that standard in the future!

How much time did you approximately invest, to reach this level?

Thanks . I actually think your stuff is really impressive. You've got the important part covered, the feel for 3d modelling. That said , I have been doing 3d-modelling since the 90ties :-) first in 3dstudio max and Maya, and later on in Blender.

Thank you,
hearing this from a veteran in 3d modelling got me pumped up!

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51