Shumatsu no Tani - Valley of the End - Album Cover Artwork for Nibana by Eloh Projects

in #art7 years ago

Valley of the End

Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Valley_of_the_end_01.15.2018.jpg

Shumatsu no Tani (Valley of the End) is an Epic, Industrial-Psybass extravaganza. The plot is dark and punctuated by sharp stabs and soaring phantom hallucinations on the verge of singularity. There is a crisp griminess to the hints of a remnant civilization on the other side of apocalypse. As one embarks on this deep, 2 Disc journey there is an uncomfortable introduction almost underplayed and purposefully over-produced that leaves the traveler wanting immediately. The experience is analogous to the out-of-placeness of the intermedium between normal reality and the onset of LSD. As Disc One unfolds, the ambience widens and you find yourself dropped into NeoTokyo after the A.I. takeover and subsequent eradication of much of the human race. But Disc 1 merely prepares you for the hard, beat-driven ecstasis delivered on Disc 2. Here is where you will find the classic Nibana crush albeit darker than his earlier “Ask the Universe”. note: Kevin Nibana is from Paris, France

Lotus.png

Listen to Shumatsu no Tani Disc 1

Listen to Shumatsu no Tani Disc 2

Lotus.png

Buy Shumatsu no Tani Here

https://nibana.bandcamp.com/album/sh-matsu-no-tani

Follow Nibana on Soundcloud Here

https://soundcloud.com/nibana

Lotus.png

How the Cover Came to Be

The Valley of the End image is a massively leveled up composite of 2 much older and less skillful pieces of mine. Nibana had seen some of my other album covers and went searching for a way to bring a couple early and strange works of mine back to life.

Image 1 - Mother and Child

1Mother_and_Child_Eloh_Projects.jpg


Image 2 - Watery Darkness

WateryDarkness_Eloh_Projects.jpg


The Mash Up

SeanTryPS.jpg


The Final

Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Valley_of_the_end_01.15.2018.jpg


As you can see, the older images appear sophomoric, messy and incomplete when compared to their new form. Though I enjoyed making both of them immensely, at the time, I am not so proud of them anymore.

Lotus.png

Detail Shots

Below you will find plenty of detail cuts. Its really important to me to create each piece in large format in case it is ever displayed in print. It is much easier to cut your files down in size than it is to increase their presence.

I spend many many hours with each of my digital pieces, getting down into the nitty gritty to blend 3D renders, photographic textures and pure painterly pixels. I understand a decent amount about anatomy and form, lighting and depth, composition and color and I push myself to my limits with every piece that I produce. It is important to me to consistently evolve and grow as an artist and I never want to let the viewer down. I take my work very seriously and I mean to saturate a close inspection with humanity and intrigue. I intend to entertain the mind and stimulate the senses at all resolutions. And so, I do hope these closeups will allow you a window into the finer points of Shumatsu no Tani.

Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail1.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail2.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail3.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail4.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail5.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail6.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail7.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail8.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail9.png


Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Detail10.png


Lotus.png

The Logo

In addition to the image, I needed to conjure a font that fit both the title of the album and the image itself. I started with a free font from dafont.com called Teknojap and started cutting into it and customizing. I overlaid textures and applied text effects until I was satisfied. I then collapsed my layers and started painting in FX and refinements to bring it to a totally custom space. “Nibana” is only loosely attached to the original font. “Shumatsu no Tani” is closer to the original, though there were many shifts to individual letter size, letting, etc. I also added and removed accoutrements as I felt necessary to create a custom style.

Eloh_Projects_Nibana_01.15.2018.png

Lotus.png

Digipack Layout

After we completely finalized the image we began to block in our layout for the CD case. In this instance we have a dual disc format and so we needed to design 8 printed pages using the detail shots in addition to the full image.

Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Layout_.01.15.2018.png

Final Product

Eloh_Projects_Nibana_Valley_of_the_End.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this in depth look at "Valley of the End"

You can listen to more of Nibana's Music Here

and Here

Lotus.png

You can view more of my works here
https://steemit.com/art/@elohprojects/harbinger-of-the-ascended-troll-with-detail-cuts

and here
https://steemit.com/art/@elohprojects/astralship-future-legends-flagship-image-release-a-beat-by-beat-explanation

and here
https://steemit.com/art/@elohprojects/heart-chakra-digital-painting-time-lapse-video-and-braintenna-imagery

and see all of my work at https://elohprojects.com/

Please Follow me @elohprojects and Upvote and Resteem

Thank you for your generous support and I hope to see you soon!!!

Kindest Regards,

Sean

Eloh_Projects_Signature_01.04.2018.png

Sort:  

That's super dope!

Hi! Trade u a follow for a follow? I found out about Steemit because of your facebook post. Visionary artists unite!

Hi @louisafirethorne. Sounds great. Nice to see you here. Let me know if you have any questions. I would suggest commenting on a lot of people's posts. That is the number 1 way to attract attention to your page. There are a few other tips I can offer to help you also if you are interested.

Beautiful work.
Have you print any posters?
If not I can do it.

Yes I have a couple of close friends that have perfected the translation of my work. Thank you for your compliment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64