Dream City builder Jenga

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes when I was little, the neighbors looked over me and my brother. To this day, they represent the Quebequer identity with their simple post-crash cuisine and their catholic decor. They had a computer with games so thanks to them I got to play the original home home video games ever made. Otherwise I would have been late to the party, at 4, Tetris had already been out for that many years. I remember playing upstairs with toy cars on a carpet with a city drawn onto it. It was the beginning of my fascination for model cities and sims.

8FA43073-7445-4C49-844A-3E070F790BBA.jpeg

08FBD91D-E8DA-4DB8-A49C-F6D0AE031565.jpeg

8BAE256A-995A-4804-AB6C-D1416D3E0378.jpeg

By laying out some general principles of the original Sim City game for Super Nintendo, I got them invested in a city of their own design, adding a Jenga twist to the activity. Polluting industries are necessary to create jobs in a nascent city and with education, cleaner technologies become accessible. Commercial buildings cannot be plowed until a critical mass of residents live there. I only later asked if they had thought of putting a hospital in, they haden’t and got right to adding the infrastructure to their creation.

B6A33FD2-3229-4C6C-A248-4A09C56E3A79.jpeg

CC33D3F8-E232-4DA4-A6BE-F7CAC6590A17.jpeg

Every city need citizens and this is where the Jenga twist came in. They were not allowed to work on their cities, only on its citizens. As they were doing so, they were taking turns on the Jenga tower. When it fell, they were allowed to finally build their city for a five minute window until a new Jenga game began and we repeated the process. This way, when first drawing their towns, they had citizens to please with their styles, their hopes and dreams. I hope this helped them feel like they were mayors in their own right. It was winners losers as in who made the tower fall actually got a turn on the iPad building a collective animated city in two frames. Towards the end of class, they were allowed to work on the cities even as we were playing Jenga. The Jenga took a bit of a back seat so I didn’t have to monitor who’s turn it was.

Unfortunately the city was accidentally deleted, I talk about this in a previous post.

I rebuilt what had been lost to the best of my recollection and I turned this animation into a contest which you can find here.

6D78C7FA-07F7-4716-90DA-673DC50A9A81.jpeg

B37C76A7-C1AB-4749-86D9-C97C477245A6.jpeg

A405C4CF-9FFF-4B90-B291-37E2748FE3DD.jpeg
The fact this picture is upside down was not intentional on my part but I am thinking that I always get my kids to think outside of the box so this will do just fine.

All in all, we had a lot of fun. I asked them if like me, they were a bit in shock that our creation had vanished. The energy had really shifted at that point. They said yes and so I invited them to join me back again in September for a redo and they were eager to play Dream City Builder again.

Here is the city so far, if you like, please join us in our journey, when we come back in September, they would be overjoyed to see what you come up with.

Sort:  

Great idea! I love how you made the kids focus on their characters first.
Although I do create my continents fairly early in my map-making process, I don't do much more than the basics until I find out I need them. In fact, Velantia is the only place where I created most of the place names as I worked on the map - though the main things had already been covered in the stories I was working on.

When I build my cities, I do it after I've written a story featuring it - i.e. when I need the map to make sure future stories are consistent and "work" with what I already have. So, yes... I make my citizens before I make their city/country...

With all this attention to detail, you brain becomes the matrix where the story can exist. I feel like since Tolkien, who by the way got made fun of by his littérature club, universe building would never be the same.

Have you ever had a dream happening in your imaginary land Velantia?

So far, my Dreamworld has stayed politely out of Velantia - and every other place I've created for Terrenden. Saying that, my Dreamworld tends to feature real places, but in impossible configurations, so it's definitely possible.

We are our imagination isn’t it?

Late Denise, the neighbor who introduced me to gaming, lived with her husband and 2 children. The computer games I remember the most are the one with the ball and bricks: breakout. She would get really mad and curse at the computer with that one. A bit later I played some Olympic sim and a bartender game. Wait am I remembering a bartender game? seriously, is nothing off limits to a 5 year old?
That’s my issue!

OOOOH this is absolutely wonderful! Love the idea. Need to jump in on this. Imagine having a bunch of dream city gifs! Great project, @edouard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53