My Sketch and Watercolour study for a Contest and Why online Life is so important to the introvert

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is my watercolour study for a painting I started this week for @juliakponsford contest #artexplosion whose theme was Technology.

feb9robotstudy1colouredTHUMB.jpg

Here is the full size version:

feb9robotstudy1coloured.jpg

I have been finding that if I choose two contests at the beginning of the week I can plan, sketch, make a study and finish (well if a work is ever really finished) by the Sunday Contest deadline. By using the contests theme but still within the vein of what I am currently interested in working in is such a great way for an artist to keep up his or her schedule.

I actually listened to a discordant but wonderful bit of electronica made by @vachemorte whilst drawing this one.


I knew he was connected to @juliakponsford, but for some reason had not been following him. Upon going to his page to correct that I found his latest uploaded music which is right here on his Dsound collection.

This was what put me in the mood to sketch out this little lady. Here she is pre watercolour:

feb9robotstudy1.jpg

In my head (and with the music's aide) I envisioned a robot woman, perhaps a spirit of technology awakening to find herself with bits of human parts. A touch of a human hand and bit of fleshy legs. She wonders at her technological makeup and is curious about the soft yet easily destroyed parts of her humanity.

This is just a study for the concept and the final work I'll reveal when it is done (Which had better be before the deadline) but I've made it so it fits in with my latest obsession of female form as spirit or myth being. It is a direction I would not have normally gone which is why it IS so important for artists (even we introverted hermit types) to have community so our work will grow and flourish and not stagnate.

It is easy for me to lock msyelf away and continue to look inward. Having been in a sense an 'only child' and often choosing my own company I can spend a lot of time happily amusing myself, but one needs to stay connected to others and see through other's eyes, which is why Steemit and online life IS so good for introverted artists.

In a way, this figure I dreamt up too, is discovering a new view through other's eyes and seeing outside her programming.

Do you do studies or sketches prior to your final work?

Do you find yourself more insular or do you seek out the company of others for inspiration?

Do you think online life is improving the art community?

If you appreciate my work please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Look at you, you said you were non techy and you started a beautiful robot, vachemorte will be happy to hear his song was involved in this I look forward to the final result!

What is really crazy is I think it might have inspired me to do a few 'pre-raphaelite robots' :) This is why I love our Steemit it community, cross art communication and inspiration. We are all feeding creatively off one another and I am loving it!

beautiful robot i like the skirt the most .

Thank you, I think it might be Prada, I looked at fashion online (which I love to do) and thought, ooh a see through skirt with a bit of human leg underneath would be telling of the wish of the android to be human underneath.

you are a creative one, it made the robot more attractive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52