A new black and white drawing inspired by our English garden and dreams of Virginia Woolf. And a Desk of One's Own.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My drawing this morning inspired by the Fantasy that Viginia Woolf's spirit was visiting my garden.

nov13thumbnail.jpg

The entire piece:
nov13virginia.jpg

I was out in the garden again this morning with my coffee.

Where I sit, outside my little French doors on the terrace, I view this adorable birdbath and the vignette of the wall and path and plantings.
nov13gardenbirdbath.jpg

When I was sketching this morning I felt I needed to make a new black and white peace. As I have said before they have a calming almost zen-like affect on me. As I was sketching the birdbath and plantings I see in my morning seat, I imagined ghosts of favourite Englishmen visiting my space.

We are not too far from Sissinghurt, the home of Virginia's dear friend Vita Sackville-West.

Thus it was not too hard to imagine her trailing about the English country side. And surely it might be nigh on a 40 minute car ride, what are such distances to ghosts?

I do love an Edwardian outfit.

And my choice for putting Virginia's ghost in that rather than something from the 1920's was also based in fact.
In 1924 she did a photo spread with Vogue wearing her Mother's wedding dress.

The general style of it inspired me to my drawing, but I pictured Mrs. Woolf in her rail thin ways to be dressed up warm; thus, I put her in hat and muffler

Another reason I dreamed up Virginia's apparaiton as my morning visitor is her book "A Room of One's Own".

And for me, having a room now in our English house does make all the difference. A place to go that you can hang your hat, put up your books and bibelots, and call it Mine is important for a creative. In particular I am happy to report that I now have: A Desk on One's Own I am the happy owner of a new little antique desk.

nov13desk1.jpg

I am trying it out in this corner of my little studio.
nov13desk2.jpg

It is light enough that I can easily move it about, so I may try it in a few different areas of my room. I do like this little corner, close to the garden and the side door to the kitchen for coffee and tea.
nov13desk3.jpg

It truly makes a difference having a desk to myself. As my room is currently bare save my suitcases and an air mattress, it is quite fine to have a piece of furniture at which to sit.

I really want to do a proper Garden post, sharing all the details, but for this post I want to share some little vignettes from this morning's garden stroll.

Before I sit and sketch of a morning, I take my cup of coffee, clad in my dressing gown and wellies, and head out for a garden stroll.

The garden is made in the old way of separate garden rooms, which makes the space feel even larger and more special.
There is even a path that leads to a little foot bridge that spans an expanse of dry river bed that runs through our garden. At heavy rains or in Spring, it does run like a little brook, we are told.
nov13gardenbridge.jpg

There is a lovely large weeping willow, which looks magnificent in the morning light.

If you turn from the foot bridge towards the rear of the garden you see this wonderful expanse of lawn. Behind the hedgrow, in the left hand side, is the veg plot.

nov13gardenlawn.jpg

Standing at that hedge and looking to your left you can see, over the garden wall, the church steeple.
nov13gardensteeple.jpg

Here, standing in the middle of the four square veg plots, you can see that view again with the wonderful morning light. The old runner beans still clinging to their bamboo supports.

nov13gardensteeple2.jpg

As you come up the central lawn from the veg plots and mini orchards you can see a beautiful aspect of the back of our darling little house.

nov13gardenhouse.jpg

I had every intention of making this post this morning.

It is true that I arose early, as I usually do, and sketched in the garden. I was also lucky enough to be inspired to get my sketch then drawing done, but then the to-doing beckoned.

I and my friend were off to Whitstable to look at a chair for me and some other antiques. We had a great luncheon at a famous oyster house. It was really a grand day out, but now here it is again, after 6 pm, and I'm only now posting. I think this might just have to be my schedule for the time being.

The more I am able to furnish my space and get a feeling of 'home' the sooner a schedule can appear.

I hope all of you had a wonderful day and got a moment to enjoy the out of doors in some way, as I did.

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments!

*A study of our English Garden and a busy day.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

What an interesting imagination you have, Donna, and it turns out into a lovely black and white picture.
                     
If the spirit of Virginia Woolf is nearby, maybe it's time for you to start writing stories =).

OH, don't ask me for writing, dear @scrawly, because I'll give em to you and you'll be sick of hearing my tales! I do like writing, though I am a horrible editor (Evinced by my posts full of typos and poor grammar)

Maybe I'll have to pen a story a day, that'd be a fun item to put into my new English schedule. I'll have to have a think on that.

Wow, that is an awesome garden! I bet it's full of spirits and mystery and you will find tons of inspiration :)

LOOK AT YOUR GARDEN!! LOOK AT IT!!!

So lovely! And your desk, is a little Edwardian.

Is Virginia's mothers dress black? Morbid much?! lol

OH, @princessmewmew I LOVE my garden. And I've still not shown all of it. There is a cute little pond, and a little back pathway, darling little vignettes. I'm loving the garden. Today we all spent the afternoon in the warm English sun, picking up apples and quince and weeding a bit. I am happy and consider myself very lucky to have this place. :)

Oh, yes, the 'white wedding dress' wasn't always a thing, but it does look kind of morbid to modern eyes. I, of course, think it dreamy and a bit gothic.

You have your locations, my dear. And what locations you have!

Yes, indeed I do, @joe.nobel and I LOVE our garden. Again. I've only given a glimpse. I still have to share more of the house as well, if it isn't too boring, but so much to-doing! Heavens, what a fuss to set up an entire house in a new country! But, I have my desk and now a quirky little chair so I'm rather happy now to mold away in my studio, but I have promised to help decorate and furnish all the rooms.

lovely courtyard, desk and studio! I love A Room of One's Own and just finished listening to this audio book for the 3rd read (other times a physical book). So great to see you still creating prolifically and creating a new life for yourself!

I am really trying to steal portions of each day to try and hold onto a sort of schedule, but you know, having made a big move yourself, the basic 'to-doing' eats up days quickly. I keep the goal in mind that at least next year when I return here, all of this stuff will have already be done and I can just take off my coat and go.

I'm still keeping our online art goals in the back of my mind often in each day, so I hope we can get back to that at some point. I have not forgot about it. :)

You're a content-creating miracle @donnadavis! no joke, you inspire me so much with your continued participation despite your various happenings....I haven't done so well. Keep up the great work! and yes love to talk with you anytime. I have lots of flexibility with my time these days so feel free to reach out.

Lovely artwork and can very much see the resemblance with the reference :D

What a gorgeous imagination and the picture is wonderfully evocative, as well <3

Love the photos of your house and the surroundings, also <3 Such beautiful place, Donna ! I am absolutely mesmerized * ___ *

well, I'll be sharing more of the house and garden as time goes on and I know the house and the surrounding countryside is going to be endless inspiration for my drawings and hopefully soon to return to some painting.

I love Edwardian style and I love Virginia Woolf! Your drawing is simply perfect for me! I have to say your corner in the studio is so nice! I love the architecture of that room and that desk is an interesting piece!

Thank you @silviabeneforti I am happy to have my little 'creative corner'. The desk is a pretty good little solid piece, nothing overly amazing, but it has nice little drawers and is a good size to work on.

O my, what a place, what a greenery, and garden...Oh girl how I wish to have my morning coffee there with you, and cigarettes off course :)))

Oh, if only. Is it hard for you to come to England, as I'd love to have you! I'd love to have a little steemit meetup here with at least some of the other UK steemians!

what a lovely garden! love to see more pics of it! do i spy that espalier tree as well that you've talked about? now that one interests me; what a neat old art form! i'd love to do one here. love your willow!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54