A study of our English Garden and a busy day.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Today's study from our new English garden.

nov12thumbnail.jpg

Here is the sketch before adding colour:
garden2sketch1.jpg

And just for fun, a gif of the layer build up.

I actually had every intention of posting yesterday as well as earlier today, but setting up house and organizing such a move is proving to be rather a time eater.

Although, it certainly is understandable to not have much time when trying to orchestrate such a move. I am going to endeavour to stay as much on my daily posting schedule as is at all possible.

This garden study was made this morning, in the wee hours, sitting outside my french doors in my little studio.

I decided to make the habit yesterday morning, that upon waking I would make my coffee and grab my little Surface and head out into the garden. I can sit and sip and sketch and dream.

I still have so much More of the garden to share, but I shan't do that today.

My hope is to at least get this post up and out before too late. In the very least I can conisder USA time and think at least it is still only early afternoon. Though, now fulling into UK time I am aware it is well past supper time.

Speaking of yesterday's sketch, I was only able to do a bit and didn't have anytime to attempt colour.

garden1sketch.jpg

Surely such sketches could become boring, but as I continue to do little garden sketches I most assuredly will add animals and people, as is my want. I think for now, though, not having the structure of my black and white drawings of #inktober, that quick garden studies might give me the moment to slip art into my busy days. It is very obvious that setting up the house and orienting ourselves to the area is surely to be time consuming.

I am happy to report that today I was able to find a darling little antique desk, so I shall have that to work on now. I'll share that tomorrow.

For today I wanted to share more of the house, but I've not had time to get any proper ones. Therefore, I'll just share this sweet moment I caught this morning in my little studio off my room. I had just come in from the rain after sketching and after taking off my wellies I sat in our one chair. I saw the vignette of my new little plant and the boots and the dark morning through the leaded lights of the window as a sweet little moment.

nov12gardenwindow.jpg

I am probably far more amused by the ordinary in my current state.

Finding such simple things as sodden wellies, an old clay pot, and lovely floral curtains framing old lead windows might seem hum drum or pedantic to some. But, I am over joyed to be settled some what in my darling England.

I have always loved ole' Blighty and am so happy to be back that such moments are like little jewels to me.

I hope, then, that they also amuse you.

Now, I am tired and need to plan out tomorrow, with more to-doing and wondering how best to fit in my art.

I hope your day was filled with moments that might seem ordinary but are in fact moments of bliss to you.

Check out my other posts, if you like, and by all means upvote, resteem and yes leave comments! I'll try to get to them once we are again on line.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

I think it's beautiful.

I took a picture of Sam laying in front of the door. In the frame were 4 pairs of shoes that I use most. I actually enjoyed looking at the shoes and deciding to throw two pair out. I haven't, but I just reaffirmed my choice. Maybe later....

I love the sketch and the way you showed us how you add the color. Thank you.

Thanks @bigtom13, now I just need to find more time in my day to continue to visit all my fave steemians, but it's a lot of work setting up a new house and all in a new country...but it's all a fun adventure!

It's nice that you are enjoying the UK, and finding good use for those wellies with the damp weather.
You have created a lovely drawing - my garden is looking rather dull as most of my flowers are dead, so i enjoyed the vibrancy of your image.

Thanks @opheliafu I love our garden I have to do a post of more photos we have so many roses still blooming and also the honeysuckle is in full bloom even our pelargoniums are still blooming probably because we are South not sure where are you in UK?

Change is a drug. Good, happy vibrations from your England settling in.

Thanks so much @katharsisdrill, I'm pretty happy to be here. And the only constant in life IS change, they say.

And, here we are ! With the first art off your house/garden already ! Amazing, Donna :D It's beautiful to see your new abode in your artistic interpretation <3

thanks @veryspider, I'm pretty happy to be here. I am happy we were able to get the place we truly loved.

Wonderful drawing!!!! ❤👍 Simply awesome, love the colors so much.
love your artwork.

Absolutely amazing work! Will resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94