Digital Painting - Original Photography - New Challenge

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Digital Art - Photography Based Digital Painting

I love original photography, but I also have a passion for creating digital art from my photographs. I'm not talking about using an app to get a quick result, (although I confess to doing that sometimes) but about actually creating something new from my work using software like Corel® Painter.

consider the lilies.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraCanon EOS D30
Lens50mm
Exposure1/30 sec; f/6.7; ISO 400
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop®, Adobe Camera Raw, and Corel® Painter IX

I have a story to tell about this digital painting, entitled “Consider the Lilies.” I won a national award for it through Professional Photographers Of America a few years back, but the award did not come easily! The five professional judges were tough, and four of them, although they liked it, blew it away as something anyone could do with a few clicks of a mouse in Adobe® Photoshop!

Luckily for me though, the fifth judge was an internationally known expert in the use of Corel® Painter, Jane Conner-Ziser, and I listened in awe as she explained to the other judges the work that had been involved in the creation of the work. (It took me a couple of days to get the desired finished look.)She fought so hard for my work that she managed to convince the other four judges to vote for my print at the award-winning level. How humbling that was, and what an honor to have someone who didn't know me fight for my recognition!

So I am rekindling my digital painting passion, by offering up a new challenge using the tag #photodigitalpainting. Please don't use it for just some brightly colored photography though. This tag should be reserved for paintings that are made on the computer, using an original photograph as the base, and preferably using a Wacom pen as your paintbrush. Let us know what software you used. The finished product should not look like a photograph, but should be your interpretation of a photograph! If you have the original, let us see that too.

Here is my original image.

lilies original.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

My image is available for licensing as a stock image through Getty Images here, and you may have seen it on a book cover, like this one.



Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here: https://steemit.com/@photography-101 and Follow if you wish.


divider.png


#TheAlliance is a community of people from all backgrounds dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. Check us out! You can find us on the Discord Channel.

#Steemusa is a community of people from the United States or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.dmcamera steemusa banner.png
#TeamCanada is a community of people from Canada or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.
TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

Sort:  

@dmcamera - As a fellow member with a passion for photography, I appreciate the photos very much. Upvoted
Regards,

@vm2904 friendly neighborhood lion from #thealliance

Thanks! I’m so glad you like them, and thanks for taking the time to comment! 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 29 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Ooh, this looks fun! I wish I knew how to do this to my pictures. I love all your posts and all the pictures, too!

It is, but it's been a while since I painted digitally. I need to make some fresh pieces! Thanks for the kind words!

Hi @dmcamera! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday - Under Pressure. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

That is a work of art and so well deserved the award

Tip!

Thank you kindly for the words and the tip too!

welcome my friend

And hmm! Looks like the digitalpainting tag is being used already , but I didn't find it on the first search. I found posts that had the words in the body of the text, but not using the tag. I have now changed the tag to #photodigitalpainting. It's all a learning experience.

always learning that should be the slogan for Steemit lol

@dmcamera that is a fantastic piece of art you created there, but I am afraid I'll have to give this one a miss. I cant even begin to compete with that. Looking forward to your next one though, hopefully not as tough! hahaha

Thought this post was pretty splendiferous
so it has been included in
the latest issue of 'Notes'.
Pop over and see what the fam is up to!

beautiful color combination

Thanks for dropping by and for the kind words.

I have never thought that an image can be transformed in such way. Your award is well deserved. This is a masterpiece.
One day when I become more experienced I may try the challenge. So, until then I will look for the software and to start experimenting.
I look forward to seeing what images will be presented.

Oh yes. Just like a painter may use tracing paper when creating work, you can use the image as if it is under tracing paper to create your digital painting. There is a very affordable version of Corel Painter Essentials, which i have recently purchased. It does a fine job too, and is a bit easier to learn than the full version.

Lately I have been integrating AI into this process, starting with a photo or a drawing of mine, running it through a neural network to generate new shapes, and then painting on top of the output in PhotoShop. Sometimes repeating the process by feeding the finished product back into the AI again. Check this one out - started as macro photography of bubbles and ended as... something really strange :) EDIT - oops just realized I was logged in as an alt account - this is @carlgnash :)
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@carlgnash/dreaming-of-the-dreamer-art-explosion-contest-week-6-surrealism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25