Photo Set of My Trip to Omaha Nebraska by Dirk Hooper

in #art6 years ago

the-baum-iron_4374586728_o.jpg

Many years ago, when I got my first iPhone, I got very serious about taking creative photos when I was out.

Since I'm a professional photographer I've heard many times that I should always carry my camera with me... but I don't. My camera is expensive and it's heavy and I don't want to worry about it all the time. So kudos to photographers who always have their camera with them!

But the iPhone took cool photos and I really enjoyed playing with them afterwards in various apps. I was hooked.

dawson_4374642610_o.jpg

These photos were taken on a trip with my buddy Robert Henry. He discovered that a Omaha Nebraska was going to have an erotic art show with work by Clive Barker, Hajime Sorayama, and many other personal art heroes. We had to go!

I took photos like a madman on the trip and I'm still happy with how they turned out years later.

chilly_4373827777_o.jpg

It was cold as hell and started snowing while we traveled up there from Oklahoma City. We did the whole trip in one day, which is a lot of driving, and with the snow, a little dangerous. We had a blast!

For people who think you need an expensive camera to be a good photographer, you should know that the photo that is at the top of this post was in a major art show in California, that ran at the Orange County Museum of Art, was featured in media that literally went around the world, and traveled through a series of galleries in California before it was all done.

safe_4373827105_o.jpg

That photo was manipulated in an app to make it black and white, but the curved effect was done in-camera. I took the photo while we were turning a corner in the car and it gave it that weird warped look.

So, even if you don't always have your camera with you, there are plenty of opportunities to take great creative, even art museum-worthy photos, with what you've got in your pocket.

self-portrait_4373889139_o.jpg



All images are copyright 2018 by Dirk Hooper.

If you enjoyed this article, please give me a comment, an upvote, or a resteem! I'll share more of what you love the most.

Follow me: @DirkHooper

Sort:  

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

alive photography ♥ your creativity.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 10.51% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67