Original Artwork for Radial Angel's One More Last Time Album by Dirk Hooper

in #art6 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

All of the artwork for this post was created by me for Radial Angel's "One More Last Time" album.

I was doing a lot of band photography for Thin King Entertainment when they discovered that I also did artwork. The designer told me that he wanted to do a full book with liner notes and that I could have free-reign in how I approached the artwork.

2-3.jpg

I ended up doing a bunch of illustrations using an old-fashioned crow-quill pen and ink, something I don't do very often.

I also used a serigraph piece of a representational art juxtoposed with line-art of a real heart for the cover. It's still one my all-time favorite pieces of art that I've created.

4-5.jpg

I did a line-work piece illustration of the band that turned out well. I used one of my own photographs as reference.

This whole project was so much fun to do and I'm really happy with the final product.

All lyrics are copyright Radial Angel. The graphic design for that project was done in conjunction with Thin King Entertainment.

I hope you enjoy these pieces! It's been a while since they have been seen. Please tell me what you think below.

6-7.jpg

8-9.jpg

10-11.jpg

12-13.jpg

Thanks for viewing my work!



All images are copyright 2018 by Dirk Hooper.

If you enjoyed this article, please give me a comment, an upvote, or a resteem! I'll share more of what you love the most.

Follow me: @DirkHooper

Sort:  

Man.. these are great.. If you moved around the images with the title of the songs I think you would get some really good matches... I mean like the open skeletal hand with the track empty handed would go fittingly but none the less.. I really like the art work!

Thanks for the kind words!

I really didn't want the illustrations to be taken so literally. I was going for more of a feeling than an interpretation.

I purposely didn't put the skeletal hand with that song, it was too "on the nose." We certainly talked about that though. Great catch!

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 2900+ Followers — just send 0.05 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day + the chance of daily upvotes!

For more infos read our Vision & Rules and also get you your free Resteem!

Congratulation you also got a random upvote by @yougotresteemed!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 6.21% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47