"Pa's Axe" Acrylic on canvas, 90cm x 90cm

in #art6 years ago

This painting is one of my most recent pieces.
One of my favourite subjects to portray are classic cars of the 50's, 60's, and 70's. This was a time period when Auto manufacturers had almost unfettered budgets and ideals for styling and design which resulted in some of the most fantastic and beautiful creations of what I would refer to as functional art.
So far, all of my Classic car paintings are of vehicles in mint condition, so with this one I wanted to create a piece that was of what is considered a highly collectible car, but in very poor condition.
A barn find I guess you could call it.
And so, "Pa's Axe" came to be. Whilst painting it, I imagined the life history of the car and created a short fictional story about it:
'Originally owned by a shifty Dodge car dealer in Milwaukee, this 1969 Dodge Super Bee must have had a colourful life and my only guess why the famous Super Bee logo is in reasonable condition compared to the rest of the car is because it has been 'refurbished' several times, by different people of varying degrees of skill.
I have included several photos, showing its creation from beginning to completion.
I'm looking forward to sharing many more of my paintings, and I would love to hear about what others think of them. image image image image

Sort:  

Congratulations @dinohalcrow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @dinohalcrow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51