STREET ART #45 - historical inspired street art in Budapest (Hungary)

in #art5 years ago

DSC_01.jpg

I have just come home from a short vacation to the beautiful capital of Hungary – Budapest. My hotel was located in the Jewish Quarter. That turned out to be an interesting area with a lot of street art, graffiti, interesting ruin bars, street food and quite interesting small shops and cafees. I haven’t checked all my photos yet, but I will post some of them eventually. But right now I would like to share a couple of photos which shows murals inspired by historical events. Hungary has a history that goes a thousand years back, so there are lots of historical reminders in this city.

The murals are done by Neopaint – one of the first organizations to bring street art to town. You can check them out here: https://neopaint.hu/#!/?project=rubik-2


«Man of the Year»

The «Man of the Year» mural commemorates the freedom fighters as noble heroes. It's a copy of the Boris Chaliapin's famous Time Magazine cover from the uprising in 1956. This freedom fighter is representing the heroes of the Hungarian Revolution. Since 1945 Hungary had been under Russian control. But on October 23rd 1956 the people took to the streets in an uprising against the Russian control and communism. They did not manage to overthrow the Russians. Even they didn't succeed in that attempt, they won some reforms that left them with liberalism in some cases.

This mural was painted in 2016 – exactly 60 years after the publication in Times Magazine.


«6-3»

This mural has a nostalgic touch. It’s found at a parking lot and covers the entire wall. The mural is probably here to remind people of their 6-3 defeat of England in 1953. I don’t know much about football, but my companion who walked with me around town did. I was told that Hungary has never been a great football nation, so to win against England, was a really bid thing. It just might have been their most memorable of all matches.



«Empress Elisabeth»

Who was she? She was Elisabeth of Bavaria, wife of Franz Joseph I, the Emperor of Austria and King of Hungary. She must be quite popular in Budapest. There is a whole section of the city named after her. This mural shows Elisabeth in all her elegance. The mural is done in an old-fashioned style and topped with names of the streets. The shades of purple was the style of that 1800s era. I learned that she was Hungary’s favorite Queen.

There are quite a few murals depicting the 1956 revolution. I just did't manage to come around the whole city in just four days.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #44 - Conor Harrington in Scandinavia


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 47.498351 lat 19.040949 long STREET ART #45 - historical inspired street art in Budapest (Hungary) d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

Cool mural... Reading you, I noticed that street art is a good way to better know the city or country we visit. You have to check after who this person is or what event...

agree. I have noticed that in many places street arts reflects the place /city. In this case I learned quite a lot of the history of Hungary. I was lucky that my travelcompanions were my sister and her husband, who has a Hungarian father. So he knows a lot about the country and history. He showed me the first mural from 1956 because this was the year his father fled to Denmark to escape the revolution.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=digi-me
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-45-historical-inspired-street-art-in-budapest-hungary


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful street art, really! :)

Thank you thank you! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10