STREET ART #44 - Conor Harrington in Scandinavia

in #art5 years ago

DSC_01.jpg

One of my favorite artists is Conor Harrington. So far I have come across three paintings done by him. All in Scandinavia. The Irish artist is among some of the most acknowledged street art artists in the world. He can already look back on a long and great carreer as a requested artist. In his work he mixes the techiques of classical painting with a contemporary context from the global street art scene. Often it includes historical themes and motives, like those I found in Copenhagen and Vardø.


In Vardø (Norway) he has been painting this impressive mural for the "Komafest" (street art project in 2012). Again he has done a powerful painting of a battlescene with these two figures from another era. It is large and covers the intire wall.



This mural I found in Aalborg (Denmark) There is a historical touch to this painting. It is found in the Western part of Aalborg among the old houses from the 20th century. This was the area where the factory workers used to live. The buildings used to be grey and dull. It has changed, but it is still obvious that it was an industrial area. This mural is rather melancholic. I think the dark expression fits perfectly into this gray, monotonous old residential area. It is one of my favorites in Aalborg.


He has also stopped by Copenhagen ( Denmark). He created this one in 2015, when he was part of the Surface Outdoor Project curated by Søren Solkær – a Danish photographer who opened his exibition featuring portraits of world famous street artists. He invited six of the featured artists to create murals in Copenhagen in connection with the event. Conor Harrington was one of them. This large murals is found right in the middle of Copenhagen facing a parking lot.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #43 - Graffiti in the Union Terrace Garden, Aberdeen (Scotland)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

Very interesting artist, Conor Harrington with his historical subjects and its dripping treatment. Maybe one day, he'll go to Montreal :-)

His work is easily recognizable, I think. So he has not been to Montreal yet? Maybe an invitation for the next mural festival would be intresting:)

I don't think so... certainly not in my neighborhood. I have to check.

His works are very detailed. What a superb talent!

Thanks for your article and photos.

I like his work too. Easily recognizable. Sorry for not answering or given any comments. I have been away, and it is Chris who uploaded photoes while I was in Budapest :)

No worries. Have you found any interesting Street Art in Budapest?

I sure have....but I didn't come across the one you posted recently...I stayed in the Jewish quarter and there were quite a few large ones here. When I get them sorted out I will post some :)

We must have been in different parts of the city. That cafe's decoration was the only thing I saw which was a bit like Street Art.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Thank you so much! :))


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much!

i´ve seen his artworks in ireland. i really like his style.

Hello @digi-me, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43