STREET ART #43 - Graffiti in the Union Terrace Garden, Aberdeen (Scotland)

in #art5 years ago

DSC_01.jpg

Last year I spend half a day in Aberdeen. I had been to the Shetland Islands and arrived Aberdeen early in the morning. Before my flight back to Norway, I spent time walking around in the city center. That morning I stumbled over an amazing amount of street art and graffiti. In just a few hours I counted at least 30 different pieces, in addition to decorated doors with graffiti. It was not at all my plan to go street art hunting! I just had some hours to spend before my flight.




Close to the church - kirk of St. Nicholas is the Union Terrace Garden. After seeing the church I went down the stairs to take a walk in the park. Along the wall there were graffiti from one end to the other.



Most of them signed Smokie. Unfortuntly I haven’t managed to find out anything about who he or she is. If any of you who read this know something about this artist, I hope you will let me know.



Before going to Aberdeen I hadn't done any research at all when it comes to street art and graffiti. I had to do that when I was back home again. When I was in Stavanger (Norway) last year, I did hear that Aberdeen also is part of the Nuart festival, which started in Stavanger 18 years ago. In Aberdeen the festival is held in April. In Stavanger it is in september.



The information I managed to find about the Nuart Aberdeen festival: It was established in 2017. Just like Nuart in Stavanger, it’s an international street art festival who’s aim to present interesting street art done by both local and international artists. This festival is dedicated to promoting art as part of people’s everyday lives and to bring the artists outside the studios.



Another supplement is an international program called Nuart Plus: academic talks, artist presentations, film screenings, walking tours, public workshops and events that take place across multiple sites during the opening weekend.


I have allready posted some of the works done as part of the Nuart festival in Aberdeen. I just have to show some of my favorites again. This one is a litle girl painted by the German duo Herakut.  I managed to find out that it was one of those painted for the 2017 festival. It is very impressive to look at.



One of my favorite artists is Alice Pasquini. In Aberdeen I was lucky to come across two pieces done by her. Both were done in 2017. She is both a street artist, painter, illustrator and designer. Her work is seen both on urban walls, galleries and museums in more than 100 cities around the world. Here is some information about her and her portefolio: http://www.alicepasquini.com/work/ You can see some of the work she has done here. You will also find a list og where and which year she did the paintings. She participated in the Nuart Festival in Stavanger last year I think.

Sources:
https://2019.nuartaberdeen.co.uk/
http://www.alicepasquini.com/work/


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #42 - A taste of what Stavanger (Norway) has to offer


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 57.157316 lat -2.100933 long STREET ART #43 - Graffiti in the Union Terrace Garden, Aberdeen (Scotland) d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

Very interesting works, specially the last ones! Many thanks for sharing!

Agree, the last two are the best. I really like the artist as well. The others, in the park are not the greatest pieces of art... but a lot of colors and all along the wall of the park - a really nice park, the graffiti was quite a contrast to the well organized park...

I like street art. Nice photos!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I really do as well :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=digi-me
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-art-43-graffiti-in-the-union-terrace-garden-aberdeen-scotland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #603.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Hello @digi-me, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49