The Oh Just Peachy Studios Tour!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Oof, I lost track of what day it was this week. I honestly thought yesterday was Wednesday?? Anyway, sorry I'm a day late!

Video Transcript:
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

Today I wanted to take a moment to show you my studio space and some of the gear I’m using to make my photography and video art. It’s taken me quite a few years of investment to get to this stage, but you might be surprised at what I’ve been able to accomplish with actually very little, relatively speaking.

I have two cameras at the moment: a Sony EX3 and a Canon Rebel SL1. I try to film the majority of my projects on the Sony, simply because it’s a much higher quality, but I’m going to switch to the rebel for a second to give you the full tour.

Okay! Welcome to my garage studio! This is where I do self-portraits, headshots, and much of my video work.

Here's my camera rig - my Sony EX3 is hooked up to mic. The EX3 can change lenses but has a magnification factor which you gotta be aware of. It sits on a heavy duty set of sticks.

My DIY teleprompter: I built this out of foamboard, duct tape, hot glue, and a cheap frame from the dollar store. It looks like hell but it does the job beautifully. I’ve rigged it up in a precarious way for now on a spare light stand.

Here you can see my background paper set up with my favourite cool gray - I have white and chroma green paper as well as large muslin green screen which I can swap out when necessary. This is all totally collapsible and portable.

Over here is one of my four kino-flo knockoffs. They’re daylight-coloured fluorescent continuous light bays which are great for lighting people - such as interviews and talking heads. I probably use these more than any of my other lights. This is my big guy, sporting 8 bulbs. I like to use my little guy with 2 bulbs as a fill, over here right now.

The other two are a matching pair of 4 bulb bays, which is great for small green screen lighting or extra power. In this bag here I’ve got three LED spots by CAME Tv - I got them because they were super affordable and they came in a nice package with stands and a bag. They’re a bit more purple toned than I’d prefer, and they’re not quite as powerful as advertised (these are supposed to be 350 w and they act more like 150 w), but you get what you pay for, and they are still handy to have.

Here in the toolbox I’ve got a bunch more light stands, another small tripod, and my steady stick. I’ve also got AC chords up the wazoo, some strobe lights, and a waterproof camera cover which I made out of gore-tex for my Sony camera. This came in really handy when I lived in Vancouver and it was pretty much raining 95% of the time.

I’ve also got a box of little battery-powered LED lights which come in useful seriously EVERYWHERE - shooting my music video for Stalker would have been really difficult without them. I'll tell you all about that in another video. I highly recommend that every filmmaker keep a box of these handy.

Finally, I have a small collection of EF lenses which I use on both cameras: a 40mm, a 50mm, the stock 18-55mm zoom, and a 70-300mm zoom.

So there you have it! This is where I film all my vlogs when I’m in LA, and where I do my photoshoots as well. It’s not much, but I’ve made it my own and i know it well enough to know where I can push certain things. There will be quite a few really fun music videos coming out of here in the next few months, so definitely stay tuned for those if you want to see what I mean!

Do you have a space that you’ve created where you can do your own art? Tell me what you’ve managed to carve out for yourself in the comments below!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
YOUTUBE
TWITTER @_derosnec_
INSTAGRAM @derosnec
BANDCAMP
SOUNDCLOUD
SPOTIFY
ART STORE
Sign up for my newsletter!

Sort:  

Love your space! My garage (shed) is where I shoot quite a bit of my stuff as well. Your's is much cleaner than mine ;)

Thanks for sharing your space with us. Nice to see behind the scenes.

haha well I'm glad it LOOKS clean at least... it is a garage after all :D

I love the name of your tour! Peachy :)

Haha thanks! The name has managed to stick around for quite a while, much to my happy surprise.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Hello & Cheers!! I'm a content detection and information bot. You are receiving this reply because a short link or links have been detected in your post/comment. The purpose of this message is to inform your readers and yourself about the use of and dangers of short links.

To the readers of the post: Short links are provided by url shortening services. The short links they provide can be useful in some cases. Generally their use is benign. But as with all useful tools there are dangers. Short links can be used to hide all sorts of things. Quite frequently they are used to hide referral links for instance. While not dangerous this can be deceptive. They can also be used to hide dangerous links such as links to phishing sites, sites loaded with malware, scam sites, etc. You should always be extremely cautious before clicking on one. If you don't know and trust the poster don't click. Even if you do you should still be cautious and wary of any site you are sent to. It's always better to visit the site directly and not through a short link.

To the author of the post: While short links may be useful on some sites they are not needed on steemit. You can use markdown to format your links such as this link to steemit. It's as simple as [steemit](https://steemit.com) Unlike short links this allows the reader to see where they are going by simply hovering over the link before they click on it.

This message was created by a bot. It is part of the ongoing fight against spam and phishing attacks on steemit. If you did not use short links in your post and feel you have received this message in error you can contact @fubar-bdhr on discord or @fubar.bdhr on steemit chat to report the issue.

Hi,,
i am a newcomer in steemit.
please vote my post and follow me .
i also vote you and fellow you.
thakn you.

Thanks for checking it out! welcome to Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39