My first INKTOBER · illustrations and explanations

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear steemians! And welcome to the dark light. :)

This year I joined the #inktober challenge for the very first time. It really was a challenge to come up with an idea and draw every single day of october, but it was fun and I learned a lot.

IMG_20171001_135913.jpg

For all of you who don't know what inktober is: it is a drawing challenge initiated by Jake Parker. Basically, you draw an illustration in ink each day of october, and post it on any social media platform.
http://mrjakeparker.com/inktober/

inktober2017.jpg

On day 2 the word was "divided". In the spirit of halloween I drew a monster hand that holds a secret. ;)


DL_Inktober2017_A4_72dpi_divided.jpg

inktober showed me what I really like to draw (skulls, skulls, skulls) and taught me the importance of practice. Every pen and medium is different, so you need to try things out and get used to those you want to get better at.

The illustration for "fat" is this horror donut. I love donuts, but as we all know they are mainly made of sugar and fat. :D

DL_Inktober2017_A4_72dpi_fat.jpg

I simply love to draw skulls. Also I'm very inspired by horror movies.

In my freetime I work for a blind woman. It's interesting how I try not to use words like "look" and "see" in my language when talking to her. I'm a very visual person and an artist, so sometimes this is difficult.
This illustration was for day 24 "blind":

DL_Inktober2017_A4_72dpi_blind.jpg

The illustration for "furious" was inspred by my love for vampire movies and strong female characters. I think this could also work great as a cover artwork for some female fronted metal band. :)
When I thought about the word "mask", the movie "lord of the flies" came into my mind. This movie really shocked me as a kid and I think it's a cinematic masterpiece.

If you are interested in mini art prints of my inktober illustrations, please visit my Etsy shop:
https://www.etsy.com/de/shop/darklightillu

I'm thinking on getting postcards printed, too. Would anyone of you be interested in postcards of some of my inktober illustrations?

So, thank you for visiting my blog and maybe we can get in touch and talk about artsy stuff. :)

Follow me on social media:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/darklightillustrations/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/darklightillustrations/

Connecting with people all over the world, who are as crazy as me for art, is the best!
If you have any questions about my art and techniques, feel free to ask me. :)


If you like my art, don't forget to upvote or resteem this post and follow me @darklightillu

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @darklightillu to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I love your stuff!!! Nice work!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Your post was resteemed thanks to @sniffbiff
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

These are amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98