BALLPOINT SKULL DRAWING NO. 03 (red and green)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody,

it's been a few days since my last post here but this week was packed with quite a lot of things; personal stuff, work- wise and getting more tattoos.

We are currently setting up a whole new studio in Germany to live and work there part-time. We'll also keep a place in Palm Springs so that we can also still do our thing here in the States. 

All this needs to be planned out very well which has kept us busy throughout the last weeks but everything is right on schedule and we are looking forward to the next year.

I am VERY busy in the studio right now, working on new art and selecting new material. 

I am so fortunate to have a bunch of new photographs from my good friend Lars Kommienezuspadt that I am using for my upcoming drawings and graphic art. 

In fact, there are so many amazing photos that I have to force myself not to start too many pieces at once (although I've always been working on several pictures at the same time). Right now, I am working parallel on 4 drawings with different styles and different sizes. Every piece forces me to change my perspective and pace. I have a quite detailed drawing that is also the biggest one, two rougher graphics and this skull that I just finished today.

Like I wrote in my previous posts these ballpoint drawings are always fun to get away from figurative realism for a little while.

It's quicker to do (but still needs a lot of attention to detail) and is keeping my cross hatching skills fresh. 

And I guess it's also a good month to post skulls with Halloween just around the corner.

So, I hope you enjoy this one.

As always, many thanks for the nice comments, upvoting and resteeming!

Have a great weekend,

D



Sort:  

Great work! One question, Do you use simple paper or is an especial paper?

Thank you @erdavid ! I used regular paper for this one but will use a thicker paper for my next ballpoint drawings...

Excellent work, your skills are on (ball) point!
Upvoted and followed.

Thank you very much @chblx ! Great that you like this one. And thanks for upvoting and following.
Did the same on your page.. the Japan pics are pretty cool!

Love the skull motif. That red/green cross-hatching is blowing my mind. It's so detailed and precise, but also has such a natural flow. Seriously, crazy! Amazing!

Thanks a lot for the kind words @offbeatbroad , great to hear that you like this one so much!

Delicate details! Love it so much. I look at these and want to take ballpoint and try myself. ^^

Thank you very much @m31 ! That awesome, grab the ballpoints and just do it... it's not that heavy.. ;)

This is a perfect example of hatching being used effectively. Love it!
finall_1_1.gif

Thank you very much @laabo-afolabi ! All these years working as a comic book inker seem to pay off somehow... ;)

WOW! You really get that chromatic aberration effect. So so cool

Thanks so much @peterhenderson ! Happy to hear that you like this one.. it was really fun to draw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69