HALLOWEEN / "I WANT YOUR SKULLS...!!" (Part 2 of 2)

in #art7 years ago

Hello everybody,

here's the second part of my skull selection.

Since I wrote pretty much everything in my last post about the reasons for picking up skulls as one of my favorite themes when I am not working on my figurative pieces, I think there's not too much to add here.

These are definitely some rarities.

 The first drawing is ballpoint on an A4 paper. 

Nothing was really planned here and I just "went with the flow". 

This was the very first time that I ever used this combination of a green and red ballpoint. I just began drawing and added layer by layer. 

Being an inker for so many years I got really carried away by all the cross hatching. 

It was almost like meditation. 

But after a couple of hundred lines I really began to focus on each stroke because I started to see a great almost three dimensional effect.

In fact, that's the reason why I took those close up shots. 

A fun trip and something I really want to do again in the near future.


Well, and then there was blood...

These are (by far) the most uncommon works I've done till this day.

I used just a little bit of graphite and then blood on hand made paper.

The thickness of the heavy textured paper plus the aquarell-like consistency of the blood itself was a great combination and also a great learning experience.

Creepy?

Maybe a bit but hey, it's all art and Halloween is just around the corner.

As always, many thanks for following, upvotes and resteeming my stuff.  

Cheers,

D

Sort:  

So where did you get the blood? 😳💀

do a tree w cedar sap 😍

I’d watch a video of you cross hatching, it looks good! I like the end result with the wash of color.

Thanks a lot @vermillionfox ! Yeah, a video would have been fun for that... not sure what would be better: a "fast forward" or "slow motion" version... haha... ;)

You could experiment and add elements of both or include 2 videos and have the viewers cast a vote.

Sounds like a great idea @vermillionfox !!

hi,danielkiessler , nice to read about you.
i am, sajedul ahmed, from bangladesh,am also new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.
i have followed you. so, can also follow me plz.and plz upvoted my post.
best of luck!

Thank you and welcome, too @sajedul04 !

Looks so horrible and scary you done a great job specially the idea of adding real blood in your drawing:)

Thank you very much @anvesha , great to hear that you like my works.

@danielkiessler Really intriguing and insightful submit. Want you the most effective with all of your potential endeavors.

Thanks a lot @eolandananni ! I will be sharing more "step-by-step" stuff in the future to show a little bit of how I work...

your works are amazing @danielkiessler! wow.

ive shared my latest drawing too. here it is.. i hope you'll check this out:

https://steemit.com/art/@mikekenlytungal/cat-s-eye-or-step-by-step-or-drawn-by-pencil-color-pencil-and-ballpen-only

Thanks a lot @mikekenlytungal ! You got some nice drawings on your page, too. Keep up the good work!

Nice ink drawing, @danielkiessler
The cross-hatching looks great.

Thank you @mphil ! This really was a fun piece to draw...

It shows through the drawing for sure.

Now that was really scary realistic.

Thanks @misterakpan . Hope you enjoyed it ;)

Misfits quote, @danielkiessler?! Berrit's lucky she married you or we'd me consummating our bromance! :P

Hahaha, for sure @kommienezuspadt !! LOL! And MISFITS FOREVER!! :)

Oh wow, followed and upvoted! Loved the techniques u used!! I'm an animator and I love good visuals!

Thanks a lot @zord189 ! Following back! :)

Thanks for following as well!! Looking forward to more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53