Antique Lamp Restoration Project Finished!

in #art6 years ago

It's time to shift gears in preparation for the steampunk festival in June, so today I will share my recent project entitled "Nevermore".

Current Project - A Little Bit of Edgar Allan Poe

Making a steampunk lamp with fabric is not an easy task. Most steampunk artifacts are metal so this one took some serious creativity. I found some amazing American Raven appliques and used them as the inspiration for the lamp.

The Making Process


Imagine me jumping up and down with glee when I found this lamp base, just sitting there on Ebay! The claw, clutching a glass orb. What could be better for my "Nevermore" creation? Nothing. Nothing could have been better. I shined it up, had it rewired and picked out a frame.


For this lamp, I decided to go with a Cameo frame that I had already made into a shade that I didn't like. I tore off everything but the white liner, and started the design process. You can see here a few designs that I decided against.


There was quite a bit of material left over form a previous lamp I made from a gorgeous blood-red silk Indian Sari. I wanted this shade to be as red and black as I could possibly make it. On my last trip to Paris, I bought some amazing black silk devore (burn-out velvet) that was perfect for this creation. Given the "bird" motif, I decided to stay off of the beading ledge and instead trim the shade with real feathers--I even put some on the appliques! I had some very cool brass wings, some tiny locks and keys and other little steampunk goodies to sew onto the shade. I ended up using a black antique lace doily (which I begrudgingly cut in half), and some dotted silk mesh.


Dax felt it was important that I pulled the puckers out of the lining, so here she is supervising my work. She cracks me up! I was very lucky to have my phone sitting right next to me so I could capture this insane moment.

The Finished Lamp




Here's a few shots of the finished lamp. Looking pretty!




More angles. Woot!

Have a great week!

Happy #NeedleworkMonday, everyone!

Follow my FaceBook shenanigans here.

Follow my Instagram tomfoolery here.

Look how Twitterpated I am here.

All images © @crystalize.







Sort:  

You are so incredibly creative and talented! Bravo!

Thank you @violetmed!! This one was a risk but I think it turned out okay. :-)

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 2.98$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

This is just brilliant! Geez can you get any better? You amaze me every time!! 😮 I love the...oh heck EVERYTHING about this lamp, it’s so unique and dreamy!!!

Lol Dax don’t play! She is so serious about you getting every detail right! 😅

Too funy @crosheille! Yes, Dax is super serious about lampmaking. That cat cracks me up. It was hard to keep her from eating the feathers.

😂😂😂 Now that’s hilarious!!! She was probably waiting on some to fall so she could get them haaaa!!!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Hi @crystalize. Good job. You are very talented ... Greetings

Thank you very much @jicrochet!

Wow! Turned out great, the ravens and feathers really make it a stand-out piece.

It's a crazy one! Hee hee!

That's a really cool looking shade! Very steampunkish!

Thank you so much @amberyooper!

It's wonderful, @crystalize !
The lamp is stunning when the light is off, but it looks so mysterious when the light comes on... You must feel very pleased with it 🌺

Thanks so much @cryptocariad! This one was fun to make and I do get a kick out of it!

Hi, I'm new and I discovering your great projects. Keep it up!

Thanks,@amigurumi! Stay tuned..lots more fun stuff coming.

That is BEAUTIFUL. What amazing detail!! You thought of everything :) and are seriously talented. I think the photo with the kitty eyeballing you is pretty funny, too!

Thank you @mtnmeadowmomma! This one was really fun to make!

Love it with the light shining through! That's really cool looking! Hello to Dax - great pic! The lamp is so cool and perfect for the shade!! It's amazing what you can find on eBay these days, huh???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34