Remembering Malaysian Airlines Flight MH17 - Shot Down Over Eastern Ukraine

in #art7 years ago

20197192_10155409077774070_1405734170_n.jpg

Today is the 3rd anniversary of flight MH17 shot down over the Ukranian airspace. I still remember the shock I felt when I read it on the news. It was late at night and my children were asleep. I was checking my emails and reading the news online and then this headline caught my attention - Malaysian Airlines Flight MH17 crashed over eastern Ukraine. I couldn't believe it. This tragedy happened 4 months after MH370 went missing. The country was reeling and we were still grieving for MH370. Please, God, not another tragedy.

But it did happen. MH17 was shot by a Buk surface-to-air missile launched from pro-Russian separatist-controlled territory in Ukraine. And yet, till today no one has been brought to justice.

Two hundred and ninety eight lives lost. The passengers/crew were someone's parents, grandparents, lovers, babies...all died in vain. They were innocent and many were on their summer vacations. I cried for days. I grieved for this people. I remember trying to explain to my daughter why I was crying so much.

Today a memorial to the 298 victims is opened at Vijfhuizen near Amsterdam. About 2000 families of the victims attended the ceremony. Sunflowers - such a beautiful tribute to the victims (the plane crashed on a field of sunflowers).

Sort:  

I am remembering with you today ... too fast these horrible disasters seems forgotten or replaced by others ... our world at times is a sad place of momentary attention and not lasting remembrance ...

And I hope someday those responsible will be brought to justice.

I learn from you! Thanks @coloringiship

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15