Classic Self Portrait

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Oil on Canvas, 24" x 30", 2011

self portrait.jpg

Portrait centering on the reflective facet of my nature. This was a work specifically geared toward an academic representational figurative style. In the image I am seen distracted by thought while sitting in my director-style chair, which I use when painting.

I enjoy interjecting works such as these into the mix of my more colorful psychedelic/surreal paintings and drawings, to provide range, balance, and contrast.

Sort:  

Hi @codyseekins! You have just received a 5.0 SBD tip from @lukestokes!

@tipU - send tips by writing tip! in the comment and get share in service profit :)
By upvoting this comment you support the service - thanks!

straight gorgeous, man! really nicely done.

Bucho, thank you so much!

Very nice, Cody. As a professional portrait painter, I can appreciate this. Great contrast, especially with the chair against the dark background. I like the increase in size on the leg and foot. Was this painted from life with a mirror or from a photograph?

Hi Matt. Thanks for that appreciation. I travel a lot and generally work from smaller studio spaces, so typically work from photographs if using a reference, and did with this one as well. If I ever settle down I'll work live again like I did in college. That's fantastic that you are a portrait painter, it really is an incredible art form to engage in.

Well done!

tip! 5

Wow thanks Lukestokes!!! :) Appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88