New Geometric Paintings: Continuation from my "Perspectives" Series

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Last September I revealed 32 new paintings for a solo exhibition surrounding the concept of different individual perceptions (more about that series here). All of these used the subject of space because the cosmos really make me reflect on the isolation of the human race on this pale blue dot, and it's amazing to me how much strife we have between one another despite this fact and taking in consideration we all see this world through a different lens.

However, after painting an absurd amount of stars, I got pretty burnt out on painting space and had an itch to change it up. The concept is still turning in my brain, but I've been finding different ways of realizing it. I began with the transition to new subjects within similar geometry. These new paintings focus more on my own perception of the crazy world we live in.

IMG_5646.JPG

At my opening reception last September, I asked everyone who I talked to "What is your favorite piece and why?" to get a better idea what was connecting my audience most. The top choice was this triangle illusion [pictured below] which was also one that I was very much drawn to and also loved painting. So, I took the framework from it and changed it up.

carina nebula.jpg

"26: Carina Nebula, 36x36, acrylic + oil on canvas

My intuition was telling me to keep going with landscapes (hence all the landscape studies). I had recently visited my mom, @connieluebbert, in Colorado and got some inspiring photos hiking and adventuring with her. I didn't jump into simply plugging in landscapes at first because as with any new work I create, I really like to transition my subjects so that my body of work can have more of a flow. You can see in these new triangle paintings that I still used some images from Hubble within parts of the shape along with manipulated landscapes from my hike. These are only studies so I haven't cleaned the details up nor come in with oils like I typically do. Only deciding which ones are worth making larger.

triangle_study_no2_christie snelson_painting.jpg

10x10, acrylic on canvas

triangle study_no 3_christie snelson_painting.jpg

8x8, acrylic on canvas

I also threw in a detail of a photo of a flower from my grandmother's flower. I love the idea of bringing imagery that I've used in past artwork not only to be nod to the previous work but also because variety is what keep my creative brain satisfied. In concept, it also speaks to my own individual perception because the images are so meaningful to my life. This one ended up being my favorite of these three and am planning on making it larger!

study no 1_painting_christie snelson.jpg

10x10, acrylic on canvas

In with these paintings, I did share a post of another geometric, illusionistic shape several months ago with the same theme (process post here). I worked on it some more since then to really create the illusion I was looking for while my buyer was making payments (with permission of course!) This shape was one that I had saved in my references for my original series, but I simply ran out of time and space in the gallery (haha). Since then, I've used this shape several times as well. Here's what I came up with:

33 westerlund_christie snelson_steemit.jpg

24x30, acrylic + oil on canvas

33_westerlund 2_detail.jpg

detail

Recently, I was commissioned by a client for a painting for a corporate space, and I decided to try to present ideas that centered around these ideas. Their logo is a dogwood flower, so I took this same geometric shape and also the triangles from my last series, and I plugged in some different dogwood images. I began one with Hubble imagery too!

dogwood_box illusion_painting_study 2_christie snelson.jpg

11x14, acrylic on canvas

dogwood_box illusion_painting_study_christie snelson.jpg

11x14, acrylic on canvas

I also used the same concept within the geometric triangle shapes I love so much as well.

triangle_dogwood_christie snelson.jpg

8x8, acrylic on canvas

And another geometric triangle shape snagged from my previous series. I love this shape because my brain switches the perception back-and-forth between convex and concave. I also been playing around with digitally manipulating my images and then approaching with a more painterly approach.

dogwood_triangle_illusion_painting_study_christie snelson.jpg

8x8 acrylic on canvas

Finally, to really challenge myself, I plugged in a manipulated portrait of my grandmother that I posted about several days ago. You can see the sneak peek here, but it should be done by the end of the month! * crosses fingers *

From here, I'm planning on taking some portrait, landscape, and flower images all in one piece! So excited! I would love to know which painting you are most drawn to. I so appreciate any feedback you Steemians have.

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65