Brand new painting coming off my easel, help me name it? + Process Pics!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I’ll have an idea stewing in my head but I can’t quite pull it together. One of the tricks I’ll try on myself to bring it into realization is to put on some pressure. So, I committed to live painting at a local open mic night that my musician friend, Symphony, hosts. Not only that, but there was a gallery deadline Saturday night that I decided I should have it done by as well. And I did it! I may still add a few details here and there, but it was close enough to "finished" to submit and I have a favorite new painting.

Christie Snelson_32 Westerlund 2_RMNP_Steemit.jpg

It began last Tuesday. I started on PhotoShop trying to decide on a concept after telling my friend I'd come out to paint. I had some leftover references I didn’t get the chance to use from my “Perspectives” series that were part of what was floating in my brain for the last couple months. I started to play around with those, but I also knew I wanted to start integrating landscapes since I’ve loved painting them so much lately. So I cut some of my recent photos from Colorado too. I ran through a number of concepts that I just wasn’t 100% feeling. I went to sleep and thought I might have a better go after some rest.

Emerald Lake Trail_Trees_Colorado_Christie Snelson.jpg
You might recognize this landscape from Rocky Mountain National Park. It's the same reference I used for the trees in the new painting.

I got to work right when I woke up because it takes a bit of prep time to get ready for a live painting. The second concept I came up with was a winner! I loved the colors so much and I was excited all day to start painting. I was glad I didn’t settle the night before.

But first, more planning. I’m a plan-a-holic and pretty technical. Especially live painting, I have a better time and have a better product if I know exactly what I’m getting into. I put my reference to scale and plotted measurements at each of the points of the geometric shape. This way when I started, I could simply use my t-square, mark my points, and place my tape. I also went to the printer to print a hard reference on 11”x17” cardstock (larger so I can see more details, and cardstock because it’s not flimsy) and transferred all my measurements. Throughout the day as I was gathering my materials, I was thinking about my plan of action. I decided to cut out the imagery in the middle of the cubes during this time and to make the canvas larger.

measurements.jpg

printed reference.jpg

With all my ducks in a row, I packed my car with my painting-to-go bag, my folding easel, my light stand with a couple can lights, and a 24”x30” canvas that I had toned with a base coat of purple.

I showed up and got to work.

live painting_photo by Symphony.jpg
Thanks for the photo, Symphony!

step 1.jpg

step2.jpg

step3.jpg

step4.jpg

live painting at the Outland_open mic night_January 2018_Christie Snelson.jpg

I worked from 9pm-1:30am and got a really great start, but I hadn't even started on the details and that's where I put most of my time. I brought it back into my studio and began the nitpicking under all my lights.

step5.jpg

By Saturday, I finally felt good about it. I painted my top coat on the background, removed the tape, and cleaned up my lines. I submitted my application with an hour to spare. I'm always applying to opportunities that feel out of my league because you never know, right? And I learn a lot and push myself in the process.

final_Christie Snelson.jpg

I love the paintings that start in a live setting like this because they also hold those memories for me as well. It's awesome to be able to socialize while working, my friends really wouldn't see me so much otherwise! I'm so good at hiding away in my apartment studio :D

Symphony snapped this rare picture of us and our friend, Ash, I thought I'd share as well. I'm on the right!

Symphony_Instagram_girls.jpg

I spent Sunday recovering and cleaning up the mess that I made, yesterday I caught up with emails, and I'm back today! Next on my plate are ten 3"x3" mini paintings for a Miniature Art Show. New ideas are spinning!

Do any of you have any suggestions for a title for this new piece?

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

That's a super cool painting, I love everything bout it. From the colours to the perspective dimensions and it's extra awesome that you did it live. I haven't done any live painting since I was a graffiti artist and even then it was easy to put in heaphones and face the wall without feeling 100+ eyes staring at you 😄

I like the idea of pressure too. I started a digital painting of a lioness on the weekend and because I'm free to take my time, I indeed to take my time. I should get busy and get it done... so many talented artists on here making me vibe with creative energy!

I love how you say you've got a painting-to-go bag too! I've only just discovered you so I'm not sure if you've been through it, but it might make a fascinating blog post to see what you carry and what we could all learn from 😊

Thanks so much! That's one of my favorite things about live painting--it's amazing how much I can tune out everything around me. It's nice to talk to people watching as well. It allows me to not overthink what I'm doing too much.

I think it's important to take your time too, but I just recognize that sometimes that pressure is what I need or I may miss my window. I actually still have it on my easel because I have a few more things I decided I wanted to do lol.

I love the idea of the painting-to-go bag post. I'll definitely make that happen! Thanks for your comment and the idea!! :)

This is such a cool series! The concept is intriguing. Way to go, daughter! You rock…love you!

Wow very interesting perspective! Because of the colors you've used I feel like I wish I had some 3-d glasses :) perhaps Lost in Space would be a good title. I don't know entitling a painting is sometimes such a challenge I find. Nice work, following for more!

Thanks! That's great! I actually manipulated my reference to have that 3-d effect. I definitely will be playing with more of that! Thanks for your input! :)

Hypercube... very nice! And I like your other work on your website - I like the stark juxtaposition of the natural scenes with the hard edges of sacred geometry - very interesting work!

Hypercube, I like it! Thank you! That contrast is exactly what I was going for, I'm glad you find it interesting!!

this looks super sick! i wonder why haven't seen this idea before. it's super cool. i am really impressed by your skill and creativity. i will show this to my friends. amazing! you should put a watermark on your photos! i just downloaded it but there is no way to tell who did this.

Thank you! I appreciate that! I don't mind if people download, I don't use my full res photos here. Figure anyone can PhotoShop out a watermark if they really want to.

Wow, that's a very interesting piece of art!

Thank you! I was hoping it would be :)

Great post, love the pictures. Feel free til check out my posts of the Northern lights, and also my new post regarding Bansy :)

Amazing @christiesnelson
i will called "The Tesseract"

"The tesseract is the four-dimensional analog of the cube; the tesseract is to the cube as the cube is to the square."-- Wikipedia.

Thanks! And thank you for your suggestion! :)

Name of this painting would be "World in the box" ..!

I like it. Thanks!

It is complex art..I surprise your Art .Thanks dear sharing this wonderful post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15