~ Art Imitating Life ~

in #art6 years ago

Lingchi - Death by a thousand cuts!


Finishing up the Masterpiece In The Making and it seems this portrait doesn't want to be done. The paper is overworked which makes every step of the process more complicated. For every step forward... it feels like I am taking nine steps back. Any correction on here becomes a brutal process that feels almost like torture just to get little things accomplished! Lingchi or Death by a thousand cuts is what comes to mind.

1

Sophia_9

You can see my labor of love and Masterpiece In The Making by clicking that link. This has been a fun project regardless of the obstacles even though I am a glutton for punishment when it comes to being my own critic!

Sophia_Photo_compare_1_sized

2

3

4

I decided to focus on showing the progress with the eyes mostly to tease this out a little more. They took on a life of their own over some time and correction. The windows of the soul are taking on some of that breath of life... little by little.

5

6

The eyes are one of the only areas of the paper that are not overworked so it was a little easier to make corrections on the fly! I always get excited once I get some momentum on projects. I am looking forward to showing y'all the full progression of this piece. I did most of the photo cropping already and there are a million photos. It will be difficult to not share too many. For most people, the images don't change enough in some steps and would probably all just look the same.

I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to check out my post. I hope you enjoyed the art and beauty with me! I have to admit, art is always more fun when I have such good sources of beauty as my inspiration! =) Let the fun continue... one cut at a time! Y'all take care!


&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS

Who is @castleberry?

See my intro and art Here... but don't upvote the old thing!

Sort:  

Huge jog this piece, I can see why you compare it to "Lingchi". lines are a big challenge here in my humble opinion and there are points of no return, really big traps on here, more than I would guess in advance.
My preferred part are eyes, you gave them life and I don't think it's easy stuff. My brother who has just opened my door agrees XD

Go go go! :)

Nice work fellow artist! =D Upvoted and followed! ^_^ If you get a second be sure to drop by my page when you get a chance. 8-logo.jpg

You have come a long way in a short time. I liked your post about your progress! Thanks for stopping by. =)

just amazing and so beautiful. I applaud your most masterful artwork. just so amazing. looks great

Thanks! I just finished this one up and look forward to the next project! You can see my latest post here if you want. I appreciate you stopping by!

This is really, really good! You might take a still and put it on steepshot, then add a link back to your article to help promote it. you can add up to 20 tags on steepshot, by the way. I come bearing news! The dolphinschool discord channel is a thing now, here is your invitation! Come by any time. https://discord.gg/RrUyccN

Thanks! Good to see you. I am working on the post now. That's a great idea... and I am glad you got the discord up. I will have to check it out!

Nice portrait!

Thank You! =) You have some great color in your art!

Oh thank you!

Dear Artist @castleberry ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

She’s absolutely beautiful! You really captured that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43