Maximum Carnage

in #art6 years ago

- Complete Carnage Sketch -


Maximum_Carnage_9j

Since joining Steemit and making some of the friends I have on here, I've been super encouraged and inspired to create art once again. So, I figured I would get out some limited supplies and get to work.

First_Start2

I was originally going to do a quick sketch in Red for the MondayRed ColorChallenge... however I am a day late and a dollar short there and I haven't drawn in quite a while! It's been almost a week to finish this sketch off and on! In order to get the creative juices flowing once again... I thought I would revisit one of my favorite Marvel storylines and characters, Carnage!

Maximum_Carnage_cover

I have been documenting the creative process and the techniques used along the way. Here you can read the first post and start from the beginning if you want. I tried to use a couple photographs from each post and session to summarize here in the final phase of this artwork. I hope you enjoy watching it all come together!

Maximum_Carnage_3

I wanted to just get started more than anything to get the knock the rust off and push myself to not spend too much time in one area. I took some pictures along the way documenting the progress as I changed positions of the paper or reoriented my hand placements. I kept things pretty simple and began by sketching with the Red Lead in the Pentel .05mm Mechanical Pencil.

Maximum_Carnage_4

Once I got the ink out I decided that the Red Sketch would serve fine to move on to the next step. I used the PrismaColor Premier Micron ink pens ranging from .005 to .08 mm sized nibs. The inking was fun and quite challenging because my hand isn't as steady as I remember. I haven't used any eraser yet in this work so I don't really make any true mistakes... "Just Happy Little Accidents!" The next difficulty and one of the challenges that made me choose this character to get kick started with was the suit that he wears.

Maximum_Carnage_5

Then I came in and began to red fill with the Poppy Red and Crimson Red wax based PrismaColor pencils. I feel like this was a moment where you could begin to see this thing coming together a bit more clearly! The red tones really help add some depth to this character!

Maximum_Carnage_6

At this point I could tell I was going to spend a lot of time playing around and detailing rather than finishing... So I busted out the Brush Pen. This is a Sakura Micro Pigma Brush tip pen. The red pigma ink came on and blended all the red together into one pretty flat tone. I did lose some of the textures... but that won't matter in the long run, especially once you see the finishing details!

Maximum_Carnage_7

Maximum_Carnage_8

Since these are wax based colored pencils they provide a good surface layer to get the ink to move over the paper. This paper is pretty slick and doesn't have much bite... so having some of the wax color pencil to layer on top of helps make the medium go a little further. It also helps the ink to spread and not over saturate the paper or bleed through!

Maximum_Carnage_9

Maximum_Carnage_9a

Maximum_Carnage_9b

I have pretty much gone crazy with the inking at this point... so I decided to just go to town on this piece! Some of the elements I like... and some of the elements I don't. I have left all the flaws on here and have't worried too much about making this the most awesome masterpiece.

Maximum_Carnage_9c

Maximum_Carnage_9d

I said in the last post that I had a few ideas to clean and finish this sketch up that should lift it just a little more. Well I got out the Pentel Sunburst Metallic Silver Gel pen and finished the whole thing up with a few silver highlights! This part really helped to clean things up and to give a little more dimension to the artwork... depending on what angle the light hits the ink!

Maximum_Carnage_9e

Maximum_Carnage_9f

Maximum_Carnage_9g

I wanted to show different angles of the silver gel and the form of the tendrils. I think this Maximum Carnage sketch turned out pretty well all things considered! It's not my best work of art... but then, it isn't my worst, by far, either! I hope you enjoyed the process with me as well as this finished sketch!

Maximum_Carnage_1a

I am super excited to get some more art in the works. I will be getting out my Slate2 tablet soon for some sketch sessions which will come along with an animation of the process. I will probably be loading those here on DTUBE. I look forward to being inspired and productive and I would encourage you, No Matter Your Skill Level or Ability, to try to do some sketching or painting for yourself. I would encourage you to create and share a few photographs of your creations along the way! You never know... you might end up surprising yourself and having some fun!

Until next time...


&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS

Sort:  

Wow man! thats some nice work. I had heard you mention something before about posting artwork so I am glad you did! Lots of details in there.

Thanks! This is one of my first sketches in a long time... so I am pretty stoked to get the ball rolling again! You were one of the friends along with @artlover that I mentioned who helped inspire me to get my art going and to put it up on here! Thank you for that. I am digging your art too. That Bernie one IS PRICELESS!

The result is stunning brother. Damn those thin lines. You have drawn every detail beautifully. I would've ruined it. Do more of these art posts fella :))

Thank you very much for keeping up with the phases of this sketch. I would imagine it's more rewarding to have been there for the whole process... (which you were!) Thank you for your inspiration and encouragement. I appreciate you my friend! Keep up the good art over on your end too!

My Pleasure brother. Will be happy to help you along the way whenever needed. Keep on rocking Pal!! :))

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Thanks for stopping by! Looks like a cool initiative!

You did it castleberry , I don't know what level is on your collection but it must be enough high in my opinion.
I would consider adding some body tailing to it and why not some background...or maybe that would be a different work.
Anyway thanks so much for sharing your art and the painting process.
Keep on the good work
Cheers ;)

Thanks Draker! I am going to call this one a finished sketch... but if I were to continue... I would include some body tailing off and some background like on the cover of the game. I will get something new going soon! I appreciate you buddy!
Cheers =)

Man that turned out great. I hope you will be doing plenty more.

Thanks a lot brother I'm glad you liked it! I will be getting some new projects rolling soon! I have a few ideas I am still kicking around. I appreciate your encouragement! Great job building up the woodworking community! Steem On My Friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61521.43
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49