Maximum Carnage

in #art7 years ago

- Sketching Carnage In Red -

Since joining Steemit and making some of the friends I have here, I've been super encouraged and inspired to create once again. So, I figured I would get out some limited supplies and get to work.

First_Start3

I was originally going to do a quick sketch in Red for the MondayRed ColorChallenge... however I am a day late and a dollar short there and I haven't drawn in quite a while! In order to get the creative juices flowing once again... I thought I would revisit one of my favorite Marvel storylines and characters, Carnage!

Maximum_Carnage_cover

Venom has a full length standalone feature film that was confirmed to have an R rating last year! Venom will be played by the actor Tom Hardy (like it or not) and I heard a rumor that Carnage is going to make an appearance. I won't get my hopes up but this has the potential to really deliver and that is coming from a very critical person about these kinds of matters.

First_Start

Below, I have some sketches I put together. I tried to keep a decent pace and not worry about the details so much. I really tried to just get a groove going. It has been so long since I picked up the pencil or pen I wasn't expecting a masterpiece.

First_Start1

I wanted to just get started more than anything to get the knock the rust off and push myself to not spend too much time in one area. I tried to just take some pictures along the way of the progress as I changed positions of the paper or reoriented my hand placements.

First_Start2

I kept things pretty simple and began by sketching with the Red Lead in the Pentel .05mm Mechanical Pencil. I love sketching and drawing in the color red. It feels soft.

Maximum_Carnage_1

Maximum_Carnage_2

Maximum_Carnage_3

Now I can see the shape starting to take a bit with some structure to work with. I already see many flaws... but I try to the critical aspects to my perception and just correct on the go. I haven't used any eraser yet in this work so I don't really make any true mistakes... "Just Happy Little Accidents!" The next difficulty and one of the challenges that made me choose this character to get kick started with was the suit that he wears. The red and black are used well together with this character and some of his features.

"Carnage can generate tentacle-like appendages from various parts of his body and warp his appendages into different arms, legs, and even wings, which he often uses either in combat situations or to restrain someone and can also use the same substance comprising the symbiote in the form of constituent red matter or goo, and uses it in this method for lethal force against criminals."
Source

Maximum_Carnage_4

Maximum_Carnage_5

Once I got the ink out I decided that the Red Sketch would serve fine to move on to the next step. The inking was fun and quite challenging. My hand isn't as steady as I remember. No worries... that muscle memory should kick in at some point, right?

Maximum_Carnage_6

Maximum_Carnage_7

For me the tendrils are easier to do in ink than the pencil. Since I wasn't going for a refined finished piece I didn't feel that much pressure. I felt more pressure to take the photographs proper... which I didn't. I will get the lighting better next time and try to get things a bit more uniform. So far I do like how it's coming along.

Maximum_Carnage_8

Maximum_Carnage_10

This is as far as I have made it. Duty calls no matter how much I try to hurry. Now, even though I was in a hurry and pushing myself in time... I never rushed. There is a huge difference between the two! I hope to finish up sometime tomorrow on this one. I hope you enjoyed checking out the progress. I won't promise this will be my best art as a finished piece... but I will promise to do my best along the way!

Thanks for stopping by and I would encourage you to sketch something for yourself soon without being critical of what you do. Give it a thought and take some pictures. I would like to see someone else do this too!


&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS


Sort:  

Glad you felt inspired. Daughter loves drawing and I'll show to her. :D

That's awesome! I hope she gets inspired too! Steem On =)

This is awesome bro... Lines are so clean. Good Job :D

Thanks buddy! You are one of the friends that i mentioned that has inspired me to get my art back on track. @steemitadventure was the other one! =) Thanks for checking it out... I was hoping you would like it!

Means a lot brother. I am glad that I could inspire you. :)) Yeah, SA is a great artist, I like how he shades his sketches.
Looking forward for more art posts. :D

Nice one! That is coming along nicely. Film sounds great too I will be looking out for that.

Thank you @jist! I have been waiting for over 15 years for a movie worthy of the storyline. We shall see... It looks like it will be good even if they don't follow the comic well enough. But i think they will! Thanks for stopping by. I am going to get back to work here in a bit and have an update post later today! Steem On my Friend! =)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 6.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.24
Server time: 20:40:02
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 176.25/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.26 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

keep up a good work, i vote for u

Why red ? Buth the painting is awesome. Vote Up 👍🏻

Thanks for the upvote! Carnage is Red. =)

This is getting quite nice castleberry , will see your advances

Go on :)

Thanks Draker! I should have another post later today....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55