Drawing fishing vessels and live music

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

I want to share with you this drawings I did this week in my city. Vigo. Galicia.Spain.
These are mostly drawings made with pen and ink in the harbour area. I choose to do one main theme each week. So I can motivate me start and finish projects. Also there are some drawings of one concert I assisted on the weekend.

Watercolors

These watercolors are painted like if were some coloring book. I like this aproach of doing the line drawing first because Im more a drawer and also because I like to maintain the clean line art
To do basically that. A coloring book or simply give the people the opportunity to save the black and white images to color them too.
Also if you made a mistake you still have the drawing so you can trace it and painted again. Or in another color scheme.

Kirkella Hull sketch

The title of this painting its given to the biggest fishing boat in Spain.
Its now located in Vigo., that has the biggest harbour too.
I love to draw boats and ships. There are so unique and different between each other.. I like the shapes and all the machinery . I like to see the workers working inside them and hearing the conversations while I am drawing it.
I also like the scale. I try to exxagerate it a bit more if I can. My drawings are realistic but with a caricaturesc touch..I could say.

final painting

IMG_20180619_130710_569.jpg

This is the final color illustration of the main ship.
The main color is yellow and orange. And later I added some variation with the opposites for painting the sea for example.

ink drawing

FB_IMG_1529777519519.jpg

This is the ink drawing. Its not the original drawing though. Because I did a photocopy of the original sketchbook in A3 size, and traced it over a watercolor paper. I like to do this method because I like the freedom of drawing of cheap paper first knowing that I can do mistakes.. And then do the clean drawing on the expensive paper.

painting process

videotogif_2018.06.23_20.16.12.gif

These are some photos of the process from drawing to the final illustration.
Here I used Van Gogh and Winsor and Newton watercolors and a sinthetic waterbrush.

Kirkella ship 2nd sketch

ink drawing

FB_IMG_1529777541043.jpg

This drawing its done looking at the same fishing vessel, but from another perspective. In this case, the profile view.
Also are included in the foreground another boat and on the foreground you can contemplate some buildings of Vigo, like the City Hall.

painting

IMG_20180620_103647_352.jpg

I use a yellow and blue color palette. I like to use only the main colors and not use a lot of them.

Bouzas

ink drawing

FB_IMG_1529777511589.jpg

This drawing shows a view from the shipyards in Bouzas . a Vigo neighbourghood.
There are all kinds of machines to study. A lot of traffic jam of trucks and lots of cranes too.
I like to draw these drawings that have lots of details to look.

painting

IMG_4378.JPG

After the drawing, it comes the coloring.
I started adding shadows with a India ink wash only in the ambient occlusion areas. Later I added a big wash of yellow for the overall picture. Only leaving the brightest areas of white. I like to do that to give the illustration a color unity before adding more layers of paint.

The watercolor strenght is that. Adding transparent layers to build the image from brighter and warm colors to a more cool and dark tonalities.

Mar Coral

drawing

FB_IMG_1529777525759.jpg

This fishing vessel also drawn in the harbour shows some workers working fixing and painting a small boat.
You can see the scale of this monsters with you conpare it with the smaller brothers.

painting

20180623_213605~2.jpg

In this case, the main color was red. I added it in different layers to show some texture to the boat. So it gives the sensation of dirtyness maybe and the passing of time.

20180616_132835~2.jpg

Thats me!! selfie time..😂⚓

process

videotogif_2018.06.26_22.35.15.gif

Ink drawings

20180610_205047~2.jpg

These ink drawings were done in my other smaller sketchbook that I use for that. Also I focus more on characters on this sketchbook, contrary to the another one , focused more on landscapes.
This weekend I assisted to a reggae concert of a friend in a bar in Bouzas. I enjoyed a lot the music. And I like to draw the musicians while they playing their instruments. For me music and art its a nice combination. Music combines with everything. While Im writting this I am listening classical music for example. It helps me focus more.
But I like all kinda of music. Specially reggae and caribbean music.

20180610_131939~3.jpg

This is a photo I took with the smartphone so you can see the band playing and see also how they look like in reality.

20180610_205226~3.jpg

Another drawing of the band. I took the photo with the CD I purchased . with a Lion on the cover.

Digital paintings

20180614_142636~2.jpg

This is O Berbes. Its part of the Old Town of the city. Its where the seafood restaurants are located. In the past it was a very popular place but not so now because the city grew and people lile to go to the malls and other newest places. Although the past years the local government invested money in this area. It was in a very poor condition before..
Now they are planning to reform some old buildings to renovate all the area.

FB_IMG_1529779276347.jpg

20180614_142645~2.jpg

I did this painting with the Ipad. I started drawing a sketch in the special Moleskine sketchbook I have for this abstract style drawings.
I scanned the drawing and I painted it first in black and white. Later I convert it to colors with a curves adjustment in the Procreate app.

Here is the video process of the digital painting.

Iyaman Pablo and band

IMG_4381.JPG

In the concert day, I also did an abstract kind of drawing of the band. I liked how it turned.
Very graphic but still you can see the silhouettes of the musicians and the instruments. This is what Im looking for when Im doing these drawings. A simple statement like if it were a logotype. But change it a bit and distort and adding abstract elements.

20180610_205226~3.jpg

Here you can see the process from the drawing to the final painting.

And thats all for now! Thanks for reading this article and hope you like the images attached on it.

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Although the past years the local goverment invested money in this area.
It should be government instead of goverment.

Thanks! Wow you are fast! Are you a human? Lol.. Im.going to change it now. Im not english native speaker so sometimes its hard for me writting well .


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanku so much! I really appreciate it

oh wow this is so cool ! i love these! you have a beautiful way of capturing real life in your art style <3 super lovely line art and the colours are just so bright and sprightly <3 very amazing !!!

Thank you so much! Im glad u liked it!

This is wonderful! Love your style :) Need to give this limited colour palette a try :)

Thanks a lot Manouche!! Yes! Less is more is the saying right?

These are really great. Cool post.

Thanks so much!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 161 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks a lot! I really appreciate it!

I really like your ink and water paintings! The piece with the musicians is really cool too.

Congratulations @carloscastro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85