Dear @scrawly I haz dragon (with bonus weirdness!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Space Dragon


Leaf Dragon lines bones og bw mirror crop 2.jpg

In the beginning there was no beginning.

It is a convoluted story. Turn to the page about space dragons.

Once and again, and again to be, there was nothing.

But once and again, and again to be, there was something.

A dragon is a bridge between something and nothing.

A consciousness arising from the void, crystallized in living flame.

A body formed and transformed of this world


A while back I found a demon spider in my shower. In the comments to that post, everyone's favorite scribbling scrawler @scrawly demanded requested that I create a space dragon. Hey, I like giant monster and space stuff as much as the next alien, so I was happy to oblige.


Process

I was backing up some old photos and came across some crappy cell phone photography of a cool blown glass art exhibit I saw in the Portland Art Museum years ago. I recognized the space dragon potential and made a collage from sections of my original photography:


Space Dragon dream.jpg
Original base image - photoshop collage of my original photography


I have created a ton of variants on this image, running it through the Deep Dream Generator using different style images. One of the things I like to do at the beginning of these projects is to create a solid black and white layer to use as a texture base over which I will layer different color mutations. I will pick a good candidate from the initial runs through the Deep Dream Generator and go over any rough areas by hand in Photoshop (well, by mouse), using the paint and smudge tools as well as liberal applications of the clone stamp tool.

Here is the original deep dream that I used as the base of my black and white texture layer:

I love the melty textures but there are some large sections of undifferentiated black. In the "head" I like the black and decided to leave it, but I wanted to fill in by hand and clone stamp the sections of black on the wings. Here is the reworked B&W layer after I finished up to my satisfaction:

I combined the above B&W lines layer with a different B&W dream that has great structure, using the "multiply" blending mode. Here is the second B&W dream I used:

And here is the new B&W base image I made by combining the two layers above - this new base image is what I used to run through the Deep Dream Generator while making my color mutations:

Space Dragon Dream lines bones bw 3.jpg

Then I made a ton of color mutations :) There are currently 31 different layers in the Photoshop document, each representing a different pass through the deep dream generator (at a rate limit of 2 per hour at the highest res the generator allows), each using a different style image. I combine the different layers in different combinations and transparencies, and use layer masks to hide or emphasize certain sections as needed (and occasionally paint / smudge / clone stamp as needed). When I am working on a project like this I generate hundreds of combinations on screen and usually save dozens of the more promising ones as variants to pick through later. Oh the starfield images used in some of these are CC0 from pixabay.

Space Dragon

To illustrate the difference between one of my layered compositions and the raw color mutation layer that comes out of the deep dream generator, compare the dragon above with the raw output below. The below unedited deep dream is the dominant layer in the dragon above:


Mor Dragonz

Space Dragon

Space Dragon

Space Dragon

Space Dragon

Space Dragon

Space Dragon


I uploaded most of the images in this post to Imgur so you can click 'em to embiggen


Bonus Weirdness


Hey look at you, you made it to the bottom of the post! Here have some bonus weirdness. The vertical format strange abstract piece at the top of the post that accompanies the poemtext about dragons is one of several fruits from a discarded tree I was climbing early in this project. My initial thought RE "space dragon" was to make a collage out of leaves to use as my dragon base image. I was not entirely happy with my result and abandoned that direction before spending any serious time with it in deep dream, but I did goof off mirroring some of the early results to trippy effect.

Leaf Dragon Collage


Space Dragon.jpg

B&W deep dream of base image:
Leaf Dragon

Trippy Leaf Dragon Mirrors

Leaf Dragon Mirror

Leaf Dragon Mirror

Sort:  

Ohhh yeahhhh!!!! My space dragon! Exactly like I want it, weird, mysterious, spacious, awesome <333.
                     
I can imagine it flying... nay, floating away in space and time in its incomprehensible size, too big to be understood by human's measurement, pulsating doom of void and terror, gates of infinite multiverses, both alive and dead at the same time.        
                       
Love it :D.

yes you understand it perfectly :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

F'taghn!!!

runs away

VERY COOL BUT ALSO VERY UNSETTLING

I seem to have this effect on you :)

Such an incredible series of processes to give birth to these dragons Carl. Love the glass shapes, rippling, almost like an iridescent mother of pearl shell into dragon web wings. And the background world of light and dark is so cosmic.

I also like how you can start with a few leaves and dream them into other beings. The abstracted shapes, just as shapes, are so striking. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks :) I have spent more time lately exploring the total abstraction that comes from continually mirroring and cropping new base images to feed back into deep dream, to take the result and mirror and crop and feed back into deep dream, etc. ad nauseam. But this kind of project that keeps the original form of the base image more or less still intact/recognizable is also fun in its own way :)

Hi carlgnash,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Woooooooooow so many dragons!!!! Hey I just realized I never dream of dragons... I'll use this as inspiration

This comment made me want to do a cover of the Primus song "Too many puppies" but replacing puppies with dragons

This spectral being has something to say

I must say that @scrawly didn't really give you a lot of details about how the dragon should look like but you created one perfect space dragon (must be perfect as she seems to like it a very much :)). She is one lucky girl :)

I think @scrawly and I have some similarities in strange imagination land :)

Hello there!

Hmmmmmmmmmm... its one weird dragon all right! But I love your imagination. Its out of the blue! No one had expected that for sure.. hehehe..

In the beginning there was no beginning.

This had made me choke a bit! I almost drop a few hot chocolate on me.. hahahahaha

Once and again, and again to be, there was nothing.
But once and again, and again to be, there was something.
A dragon is a bridge between something and nothing.

Hahahahaha I love your suspension here! 🤣😂... you are driving us nuts.. but all the same I love and enjoyed it too!!

Thanks for creating a dragon for one @scrawly.. if it isnt much, can you make one for me too?? I wonder what you will come up next!!! 😁😍

Till next time.. cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Mrs. O I could be persuaded to dream up something for you. But you have to pick something interesting. Not another dragon.

Hmmmmmm.. that sounds more interesting.. hahahahaha oh my i could not think of any..

Hmmmmmmm... wait... thinking....

Okay how about a fairy?? Too fancy?! 😀😄

Posted using Partiko Android

nah that sounds good but you have to tell me what kind of fairy :)

Hahaha now that is hard... i am a mom to two boys we are mostly on pirates not fairies.. 🤣😂🤣😂

Hmmmmnmmmnn..

Tinkerbelle kind of fairy?? Will that pass?? Haha

Posted using Partiko Android

nah I think I like Pirate Fairy

Hmmm.. that sounds even great! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

It is super original the dragon you created .. with some abstract shapes that make it from another planet xD

It has a form and a mixture of very interesting colors, it is not an easy job but it seems that you had a lot of fun with this, so that is the important thing. A big hug @carlgnash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72