A Gryphon Painting

in #art7 years ago

A Gryhpon or a Griffin is a mythical beast that has a head of an eagle and a body of a lion. People believed that it was the guardian of several treasures and priceless possessions.

Today, I'm presenting my painting that I did today to you guys, the Steemians. For the canvass, I used a sketch paper in A3 size. For the paint, I used poster paint. Poster paint is really a convenient paint in terms of price and life(not used). Like the paint I used for today, those paint were already stocked on my drawer for years now and with just a little water, I activated the paints for use again. They are fantastic!

Process

Rough Sketch


First I drew the beak. I always start at the beak, I think most people do too.



Then the head with the eyes.



Then the body.


And the background.



Coloring with Poster Paint


First I applied some poster paint with a lot of water for the background. Use a brush with the size of 3-5 here when you do backgrounds like this that is fairly large.






Same thing with the body, I only applied a different color here, later on I will apply opaque colors on this area, I just did it here so I can visualize what to do on this part.


Then the beak.


I then started applying more details from here.














I here, I tried doing an experiment with blending some of my colors with less water.


The results are okay and so I moved into doing the other parts.


Almost done.



I also did the tail.



And the background.





There, done, dekimashita!

Thank you for looking in this post, truly appreciated.

Sort:  

Congratulations @caliber! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @caliber! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.71
ETH 3517.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36