Painting on Motorcycles in Miami (5 Minute Freewrite)

in #art6 years ago

32-miami.png

All photos are mine... from when I used to paint (and etch) on motorcycles for a living.

motorcycles3.png

Our traveling home for our family of seven (plus our dog)

Tattoos-thebus.png

I've written about it briefly here before, but about 16 years ago, we lost our house and nearly everything in it to black mold. We took what we had left, bought an old bus and went on the road. We took our five children (at that time they ranged from 1-10) and lived on the road for almost three years.

Tattoos-2-a.png

This was the rally where I traded a tattoo artist... a custom painted leather vest in exchange for my oh so classy tramp stamp tattoo ;)

While we were on the road, I painting and etched on motorcycles (and painted on leather as well) and between 'motorcycle rallies' we explored the country in between locations.

Tattoos-2-b.png

We always started the 'season' in Florida, because that's where it got warmest first. Since motorcycles aren't going to be out and about when it's cold, that was the start of our 'season'.

Tattoos-2-c.png

Florida was ALWAYS miserable. It was "unseasonably" humid or rainy or COLD every single time we were there (and every time SINCE THEN!) and I just have very few good memories of ever being in Florida.

motorcycles-1.png

Since today's prompt is "Miami" I'll just talk about the last time I remember painting in Miami.
First off, of course that was the year that it rained for the entire rally "Miami Bike Week". It rained so hard that there was no customers and my big plastic tubs full of my supplies, paints and equipemtn kept FLOATING AWAY.

motorcycles-5.png

We finally moved from that location due to the floating supplies, but before we did, I got a customer! He said, "Can you paint my leg?"

I said, "No, I'm sorry. The paint is lead based, so it would be toxic."

He replied with, "Oh, no problem." Then he proceeded to removed his fake leg and set it on the table in front of me with only the shoe holding it up. He then handed me the cash for the paint job and said he'd be waiting in the bar.

I painted "realistic" looking flames on his leg and heard about him off and on as the season continued. I can't find a picture, unfortunately.

motorcycles2.png

motorcycles-4.png

blues-smoke-water.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

blues-smoke-water.png

And if you're in the mood for something entirely different:

I've got some other choices for you. Humor or Horror

Humor

My Daily Vlogs/Ulog videos! This is Day #6: "The Lesbian Milk Talk"

Thumb-Ulog7-lesbianmilk.png

Funny letters from Tempest, the Cat who lived on a Sailboat in the Bahamas.

Tempest-Cover-21-300.png

blues-smoke-water.png

Horror

A short Story/Weekend Freewrite:

thumb-27-nightmare.png

Photo Source Pixabay

30-tellmewhatyousee.png

Photo Source Pixabay

28-cover-cocoon.png

Photo Source Pixabay

blues-smoke-water.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

byn, you have lived such an interesting life!! Black mold sucks!!!!!!

Yes it does! If not for that, we never would have considered living on the road at that time, so I'm SO glad we did. The kids all have great memories from those bus years that wouldn't have happened otherwise! Plus, it definitely got us out of the rut of trying to be normal :)

I think this is one of my favourite free writes ever. Considering it is a topic that does not really trigger great memories for you I wanted to thank you for writing it.
I have ink from some hard times, for a while I hated some of them as they were tired to those memories. As the years pass I accept myself I accept them too and they don't bother me like they did, and I have newer ones that definitely felt like a healing process, scorchingly healing.
I hope your stamp is one of pride and resilience to you. I look forward to reading more of your writing and checking out your posts.
Your art is amazing.

Thank you! I try to keep it real. I don't always write about life stuff, but I keep it real when I do. I've been struggling a lot lately with emotional crap, so it is really awesome of you to leave such a supportive comment. Thank you.

I am not at all bothered by my tattoos. Even the one I wouldn't have gotten if I could go back in time (and it wasn't this one), they're tattoos. They are just as much a part of my life as my memories and although I definitely have regrets in life, tattoos don't generally make the list!

I actually wrote posts for all of my tattoos to tell the stories behind all of them. They aren't all super meaningful or anything, but they do tell interesting stories of my life experiences and I love that!

WOW you are a talented artist, thats such unique and beautiful work you did on all the bikes

Thank you so much :) I don't consider myself an artist, because my skills can be very hit or miss, but I chose the ones that turned out well!

these all turned out super well :)

That was so nice learning more about you!! Annnd we're working towards buying a bus and hitting the road!


I'm also the prompt deliverer fairy for the day!
Click this ☄ magical button!

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

It was a wonderful thing. I definitely enjoyed the boat life more (and that was cheaper), but we will probably go out on the road again some day. It will just be vastly different since our kids are all grown now!

Boat life too? Wowzers! How long was that?

About two years. We sold the boat last fall, actually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43