Art Process for Luzzu Boats in a Malta Harbor

in #art8 years ago

Last week I went to Malta with my best friend and I was inspired by the brightly colored luzzu boats in every harbor. So, I decided to do a painting of them and here's my process.

After sketching out basic shapes with a burnt sienna wash, I filled in large swaths of color especially for the water.
Luzzu part 1

Next, I outlined the boats in red and filled in the rest of the little town and the fields on the hill.
Luzzu part 2

Finally, after filling in the boats completely, adding some blue sky, and painting the sea, here is my finished product:
Luzzu final

If I'm being honest the lighting in that shot is really bad, so here's the photo I posted to my Instagram (BrittanPaints):
Luzzu Instagram

Thanks for reading. :) If you want me to post more art processes upvote or comment on this post. If you want to see more of my work check out the video below.

Sort:  

Very cool! Quick note: if you post more than 4 times in 24 hours, your post rewards will go down as they will be averaged across the posts. Steemit is a bit like Medium in that it tries to encourage a high quality (over quantity) blogging environment.

Good to know thanks Luke.

Congratulations @britttansedai! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @britttansedai! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @britttansedai! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55