Paint with me: timelapse art on ProCreate

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

How are you today?

Whenever I’m feeling a little bit stressed I find timelapse art really calming to watch. There’s something comforting about watching a picture gradually take shape from a blank canvas.

Over on my IG (@ bloomscapes) I’m taking part in a daily sketch challenge. I recently invested in an Apple Pencil and ProCreate and I’m in love! It makes drawing on the go so much easier and I’m more motivated to practice every day.

A50796B9-C019-4523-AA58-1793BC651FA0.jpeg

Yesterday I drew a bright orange calla lily. To see the timelapse, check out my IG stories today...

  1. ProCreate is great for keeping a reference photo right on screen. I create a new layer, lower the opacity and sketch out my picture. Next, I work from the back petal, and add in my main block of colour on a fresh new layer.

E3F4B6C4-3251-4C5E-846E-A93F66D594BC.jpeg

  1. Next, it’s time to add in some highlights. I think about which parts of the flower catches the light, and work with this to create some lifelike contrast and shadowing.

3E4F26CB-CD10-40F8-BC63-0874B82EE471.jpeg

  1. I repeat these stages, always starting with the main block of colour and then blending in light and dark.

4122B252-6606-491F-9403-A25CBFDAD875.jpeg

  1. Time to layer over the most forefront petal. I add in little curves of bold colour to make the flower look more interesting.

9D162E9A-94BF-4EB5-9F83-E56691502EB5.jpeg

  1. Finally, it’s time to add some details. Blended green stalks, final highlights and clean edges are the key to capturing a flower in a digital painting.

299DD30C-D64F-4214-B427-2D14782E637C.jpeg

A calla lily is a great reference when you just want to do a quick sketch. Compared to other flowers, they’re much simpler but still offer lots of interesting shading to sharpen your skills.

What’s your favourite flower to draw?

For the full timelapse, and more, follow my art IG (@ bloomscapes). See you soon!

Sort:  

Congratulations @blossoms! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @blossoms! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @blossoms! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83