Wandering in Imaginary Lands [part 4] / THE BOAR - Improvised drawings and a short story to link them all.

in #art6 years ago

Hello ! welcome to the fourth part of that self-living litlle story :)

Previously :
Part 1
Part2
Part 3

And now :

The Boar !


MechanicalBoar.JPG


The Dudes Farm was slowly taking its due through its inhabitants passivity, steadily pumping their time, their energy and their life through theses seats, through these tubes, through these walls.
Beat.
Pump.
Beat.
Pump.

That was the sound of passing time, deep in Dudes Farm.

I've discovered there, that Time is a teacher, but what's learned, though, depends on what's perceived. And I was only perceiving pale figures contrasting against dark graphite walls.

Time taught me as much as it could about them.
They were... Pale... They were figures... Against dark walls.
That was almost all.
Almost... I've started to notice slight differences between them...
Wait...


PaleandBoar.png


Actually, that was a bit more than slight differences...

Now I remember the pale figures, I know they'd had deserved more attention. I now recognize some well known wounds they had and that I didn't notice then... Just because I was fascinated and subjugated by one of them, that took all the place.

The Boar was so massive, so strong and noisy, so a radical contrast against the ambient passivity... My own passivity.
I immediately thought it could lead me out of this suffocating place, and started to follow it.

I've discovered then that Time is a healer. It makes people forget what they could hurt them. It made me forget why I did come here. It made me forget there could be anything else than this place.
Until I met the Boar.

The Boar had an excellent memory, so good actually that it could tell you its old stories with so many details, and so much passion, that you'd think it was depicting your own bitter-nostalgia-flavored past.
My favorite was about the Boar's regretted Stinky Muddy Pond, by far better than our Creepy Dudes Farm.


StinkyMuddyPond.png


That was a place without any fake promises : only torn roots, a small muddy pond and its stinky atmosphere... The Boar only had this before coming here, spending its days foraging the roots and bathing in the mud. It would have stayed pretty simple and pretty happy if the Mechanical Voice didn't came and explained how vile and mediocre was a life if only lived like that.
The Boar had a good memory...
But the Mechanical Voice's words, it couldn't recall precisely.
And that always made it angry.

I've discovered then that time was a thief.
I recalled some silent trees,
Exploration of fantasy, and will to be free.
Instead I was sitting here, in own frustration and self-grief.
Yeah...
It made me angry too...

That's been so naturally that when the Boar charged blindly, I followed it stupidly.

The beast seemed unstoppable, and I though it would crush everything on its passage, breaking through the whole Dudes farm until reaching the outside.
Maybe we'd find the Stinky Mudy Pond where we'd find some rest, far from the Mechanical Voice, its eye, its mouths, and its little dudes.
Instead of this, soon after breaking out the Farm itself, the Boar's anger and strenght faded out, like out of steam.

Leaving myself alone, once again...
Beat.
Pump.
...In a place...
BEAT


BeatNPumpMAchine.JPG


PUMP.
...I couldn't even describe.


Here we are for this time, folks !

I think I've been a bit too self-confident about my ability to write this part, and as always with that attitude, I've been hit by huge wall of small difficulties :D
I almost thought I wouldn't make it in time, struggling with both text, drawings, and their damn photos (I suck with cameras :D ), and even if it's shorter than I wanted, it's time to go on to next part.

This specific part of the text was partly inspired by one of @manisha.jain9's posts, which made me remember how overwhelming, destructive and resilient could be that feeling.

We'll probably have to deal again with the Boar before the end of our wanderings in Imaginary Lands, but meanwhile, try to keep it away, unless you've found a way to make it walk at your side ;)

Thanks for reading, have fun and take care !


Eth - 0x8Fcce0AD10D4Bfa515160EB622Acd1EF66969832
Neo (Gas) - AehkhJuaFTgJZh35xEU6ZbmYtQyENXFQhA
Peercoin - PMfXA33BDnrtTNwHUFmyCKvA1RgK3SmWgP

Copyright @berien - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Wow! Thank you so much for the mention. I am really honoured, that my article was able to inspire you to write a part of your post.

My pleasure :)
Your article was well written and informative on the topic, and it helped me deconstructing that nasty feeling when I needed to describe it in a more fantasy/allegoric way :)

You've received an upvote from @slothicorn! Click Here to Read our New Curation Policy And Updated Rules
(@ghulammujtaba)

Thanks a lot ! :D

ohhh the boar! and it has a long memory~ what an interesting tale <3 really nice drawings, also <3

See - I missed yours again! I still like this story and your drawings and maybe you should consider making a comic? ;)

Ouch ! Too much methodic work involved in comics... Here, from a picture to another, my characters don't even remember if they were trees, animals, or weird mechanical things... Would be the hardest comic to understand for a reader :D

The story here helps me building one of these several-parts larger drawings I do on small wooden tablets. I'd like to give it some (rather) structured background context instead of pure random graphic elements linked together... It seems that words have stolen the creative randomness for themselves :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

The details are stunning, but also a bit creepy hehe.. but great job there!

Thanks @anouk.nox, yeah this area of Imaginary Lands is not very comfy :D
Let's hope the story will find its way outside :)

Very interesting story and really amazing drawing:)

Thank you much, @sweettais :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74