Watercolour of Findings in the English Countryside.....Part I

in #art6 years ago



Watercolour of findings in the English Countryside.


...............original watercolour by @bleujay; presented by @bentleycapital.




A photograph of the finished watercolour.






A photograph of the watercolour filtered to black and white for the purpose of value/tone study.

'English Hedgerow Flowers'



Thank you for your interest Steemians.



For those interested in details.....

This watercolour is the end result from drawings sketched in the English countryside of the lovely flowers that seem to spring in every nook and cranny of the hedgerows.

The black and white photograph of the finished painting assists in ascertaining whether the painting is 'reading' or has depth and a variety of tone.


Cheers.







Sort:  

are those Oriental poppies?

so I missed out again huh?
sorry I've been absent - but I sent you a reply just earlier on
it's alright ;)

Thank you for your kind reply @englishtchrivy.

No worries mon ami....you are never late... ^__^

These were poppies in the hedgerows....not Shirley poppies but about that size......apologies...do not know the name....just wild things.

All the best to you.

A bientot.

ah... those poppies.. it's at the tip of my tongue I have them in my garden .. but I can't remember which one - small ones right? I just throw their seeds and they sprouted like grass :D
surely not a California poppy just the usual one :D

https://steemit.com/bescouted/@naydenova/poppies

It is these ones@neydenova had them on her site....lovely....are they not?

Oh yes...the smallish ones.

Thank you for coming by...enjoyed the chat.....A bientot mon ami.

Like what I see, details come forward and the whole of the painting is good

very good art so it becomes RE-steemed @bentleycapital

Thank you for your kind complimentary words @xpilar.

Appreciate you dropping by and having a look.

Appreciate the RE-steem....very kind of you.

Cheers. ^__^

My pleasure

Nice work, how long did it take you to do this from start to finish. I can tell you have a decent amount of time invested in this.

Thank you for your kind comment @azfix.

With regards to your query, it is hard to say....as this is style that must be painted in layers.....after each layer is dry.....it is perhaps four to five hours of painting altogether.

Appreciate you stopping by.

Cheers.

I prefer the first one @bentleycapital with full color.
I'd like to have one like this on my wall in my living room.
A bientôt !

Very kind of you to drop by @pickoum.

Thank you for your kind compliment.....which is a compliment indeed.

A bientot......

Created by master colorful hedgerow flowers will certainly be read even in black and white!
You make me think not only over the Principles, but also over the brush strokes... )
Beautiful painting!
My best wishes to you dear @bleujay @bentleycapital

Thank you for yor enthusiastic reply @evgsk.

Very kind of you to stop by.

Yes....principles firstly and then the icing. ^__^

Wishing you all the best.

Cheers.

Lovely work you are putting out there.

It's interesting how you use a black and white technique to your painting to ensure that it has depth and variety of tone, similar to how a black and white photograph might show those as well.

The feeling changes so much once you applied the color. They are almost two different paintings - two different moods and stories.

When you complete a painting do you stand back and enjoy it or are you glad you are done and look forward to the next project?

Thank you @countrygirl for your thoughtful reply.

In watercolour courses one of the first things one is taught is to paint a value/B&W sketch of your intended composition....'to establish the darks'.....yes...very similiar to how a B&W photograph reads.

Very different moods indeed.

Interesting query......There are some that are personally enjoyable.....for example this one and it's pair bring the countryside with them every time I look at them. There are others that the artist in me is not yet satisfied with and must view technically. For the most part though, when I am happy with the work.......I give the next idea all my energy. Rather like posting here at Steemit. ^__^

All the best to you.

Cheers.

NB Congratulation on winning a spot in the Moss and Lichen Contest. Lovely work.

Thanks for the congrats! I was surprised I was included, there were so many wonderful photos.

Also, I really appreciate you answering my art question. I'm creative in different ways and I know for me, sometimes I am happy to finish a project because I'm not happy with it anymore....it's old...and I want to do something new. I wondered if every creative person was like this.

Thank you for your reply @countrygirl.

Typically, if I am not happy with a work in progress....it is in its 'teenager' stage which every work goes through.....usually it is some technical issue that needs to be overcome.

If one asks himself the 'why' one began the painting/work.......perhaps that will assist in getting back to the motivation for continuing with the same vigor.

Sometimes it is just a matter of taking on a subject without knowing it as well as one needs to...in order to make a painting/work of it.

Or you might consider this....

An art professor once said this.....'Your drawing skills will always be ahead of your painting skills.' Interesting.....bleujay would agree.

Hope these thoughts will assist.

All the best to you.

Cheers.

You're sweet to reply to my questions. Thanks so much @bleujay. It's great to see inside someone's creativity.

A good post @xpilar I am very like is all your post

This painting makes my head think, because the beauty of art that exists in this painting,
Where is this painting on display?
My mind was carried away when I saw a black and white painting ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00