Digital Painting - Campfire!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Today I'd like to share painting that I did for the upcoming Indie-Game 'Archmage Rises'.
If you don't know the game.. Look it up.. It is going to be quite cool.. a RPG that will come really close to the freedom someone has in a tabletop/pen and paper rpg. Which is unique.

Okay! So I had to paint an illustration showing the mage out in the wild camping with a little campfire.

campfire-1b - Copy.jpg

Okay so i started this painting without a line sketch. I had the idea on how this should look in my mind so I just started right away with shapes.
campfire-1a.png
Easy enough right? .. I got a more clear idea on how this composition should look and i like the flow from left to right even with these shapes.
campfire-1b.png
Still really really rough but enough for me so far! :)
Time to cut out some shapes and add some colors!
campfire-1c.png
Now I added the light of the staff and the campfire.. a great way to cut the silhouette of the mage lose and get some focus there.
The composition is still swirling in from left to right ending on the staff at the upper right corner. That will need some attention later on! :)
campfire-1d.png
Here I color balanced it and added some more lights and darks to get a sense of leaves and bushes. I also added some roots on the left side to strengthen that composition from left to right. It is almost done!
Since in a scene like this,, most of the things in the image isnt lit.. so there is no point in rendering it... if that makes any sense? :)
campfire-1e.png
Here I added some more details and small highlights on the places that matter and let a bit more of the light that is falling through the trees up on the leaves and bushes in the background. As you see i started to make some magic effect happen at the orb of the staff so that gives it some teeth.. That will be a nice point for the eye to rest upon!
campfire-1b - Copy.jpg
Some more of the same but the image is now done! I added some spiderwebs , some atmosphere and some embroidery on the mage and sharpened a bit of the edges in the magical effect on the staff.

Hope you enjoyed reading/seeing these!
And I hope it was useful for some of you! ^^

Thank you for your time!

Cheers
-Rogier

Sort:  

That's great work, a very interesting artistic challenge. 'Archmage Rises'.

I am laughing out loud over here, you are very talented and do not know it. the reason I am laughing is that your explanations of how you did it goes over my head. I guess I don't speak or understand painting but I sure know a piece of art that calls to me. You make it sound so easy! This is a painting I could look at everyday, looking at it makes me feel the warmth of flames (its sub-zero over here) Great work. Thanks for sharing

Hahah @nitego I know what you mean :D But for those that have been painting for a while probably get an understanding from what im doing and what im thinking about.. I mostly just explain the choices I make and where i focus attention on. If you see the picture it really is very rough, most people would call it unfinished.. but I paid attention to the parts that 'matter' so the rest can be left undone and still come of as a finished piece :D

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

The finished product turned out amazing. love seeing the process. Very talented. Nice job.

Thanks mate! :)

wow
what program you used for making this?
impressive!

I paint in photoshop :) Thanks!

I never learned photoshop :/ , great stuff

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Great atmosphere! :D

Thanks dude! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50