Character Design - The Imperial - A class for DnD / Pathfinder

in #art7 years ago


Hey Steemers!

Hope you are all doing fantastic?! :)
I recently got the request from a small RPG DnD/Pathfinder community to create the character design that fits with their 'Imperial' class.
This would be a character to use in your campaign. (if you play such games!)

I'm not yet allowed to share all the details of the character as far as i know.. I will edit this post later on if i get a greenlight.
I will also put up a link to their DMSguild website where it is all described on who/what where this character comes from :D

For now I can just share the process on how I've drawn and painted it.

Here are the steps!


As you know,, You start of with a quick sketch on how the character should look.. I first tried a different pose and design for the armor but it didn't swing well with the client, so we went with the other design.

The focus would be on the character, not so much the pose.. and especially the sword would have to be in full view so people could see the design and all the nuts and bolts of it. (some sort of steempunkish sword.)

Here are the next two steps:

I first blocked in all the base values and colors to get a sense of material..
I always try to work on the image as a whole, but with characters it is almost impossible.. You have to get a sense of how the light falls over him/her,, then you just go bit by bit and render it out. As you see i started on the right with the face and neckguard.


Here can see how i slowly make my way down the body rendering and detailing where I see fit. I boost the lights on the upper body and face to allow more room to wiggle with down below.. As I dont want the whole armor set to be over the top shiny as it will distract from the face.. Even when painting just a character, the composition of how you paint it can make quite a difference to if it is nice or not to look at. (hope im still making sense.. I don't really have a vocabulary for all my nonsense thoughts :D)

Here are the last 2 steps.. It is purely a matter of rendering and refining.. a tedious and annoying task.. But you know the person paying for the image will appreciate it :D
The right character is done.. Now it will be a matter of adding minor details and carvings in the armor to give it a little bit more 'umpf' .. whatever that is!


The final result... The Imperial !

I hope you like it! :)

Thank you for watching/reading!

If you have any questions, comments or requests,, please feel free to leave them below!

Upvote/Resteem is much appreciated!
And please do follow if you are into this kind of stuff :)))

Thank you!
Cheers!

Rogier/@beekart

Sort:  

This is great 😍 I love this kind of tutorial, helps a lot to see the process of coloring!

Thanks @aleduruy Glad you like it ^^ and even better to hear that it helps ! :) :)

Uuhhh nice one Rogier!! :D

Thanks bruhh!

I always wait your post for seeing your painting . That is good , my friend.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Great post steem is power

name of software you use

I draw and paint in photoshop :)

@beekart, what kind of sword that is, I bet it has so many powers in it :)looks like heavy one..

Thanks @jungwatercolor ! :D Yeah that sword is all weird.. i dont think it really fits in the world but the client was keen on having it in.. i guess they know better! :D

I agree, client always knows better :)

This is marvellous rogier, nice character , oh ..
And what a sword ! :-)
Resteemed , <3

Thanks you so much Adele! <3
Appreciate it alot! :D :D

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

This blog is mentioned in

logo.jpg

Thnx mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43