You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trial & Error ― Painting With Oils #WIP

in #art6 years ago

In general I think your perspective is good..

The first problem you ran into with this is that your trying to fit a scene (original picture from link posted) that almost appears to be a 16:9 ratio onto an 8x10 canvas. Your perspective would have to accommodate or be adjust for this. To further frustrate you, where you plotted your horizon line is a bit high in my opinion.. that is if you are trying to duplicate what your seeing. It's just fine where it is now, the road would just have to be a bit wider at the bottom of the painting.

Nice thing about art is that there aren't any "mistakes", but rather "artistic representations". lol. I feel you on this. I get through a lot of work laying stuff out and painting it in and then BAM!!! I see the flaw (in my eyes) that ruins it for me. Uggggg...

Looking good so far though. I would make the vehicle in the foreground about the same height as the person on the right hand side of the painting in order to help correct that proportion issue you referenced.

Looking forward to seeing where you take this!

Obviously my opinion is just that. I don't have any formal training either, so my thoughts have no backing to them other than from my own trials and errors. Take them for what they are worth. I am drawn to foggy/mist scenes like this one. I think you nailed that thus far.

See you around @olaivart!!

Sort:  

Yay! Thanks for these, @bdmillergallery. Let me point out stuff in bullet because I'm kinda distracted now, lol.

  • I actually cropped my photo so it'll fit on the canvas I am working on.
  • And truest about my horizon being way too high. That's a mistake I often do. I am becoming more observant about it now.
  • See, I am practicing realism and as much as I want to have that artistic representation, I cannot accept it yet, lol. Probably because I wanna have the foundation first before breaking the rules and having artistic freedom... But these days I am drawn into impressionistic landscape that I often find myself saying, "Oh it looks different from the real thing. I dig it!" LOL Am I having soke transition? But I am really enjoying my time now.
  • I will try to adjust the vehicle or the person, whichever it easier to adjust.

Thank you so much! I appreciate feedbacks a lot. ✨ See you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73