Halloween Art - A Step Back In TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

We Spent The Weekend ..

At my parents house in southern Delaware. It was a nice trip and nice visit. My mother has always been a big fan of my artwork. She was one of those mothers who saved all pieces I created from pre-kindergarten to present day. It is always a step back in time. A happy step back in time. I have lots of childhood memories I could share, but won’t bore you with that now.

As A Child ..

My favorite times of the year were Christmas and Halloween. Since it’s Autumn and nearing October 31st, I wanted to share a step back into time that relates to the season. This was not a huge step back, just a short step back approximately 22 years, to when I was about 22 years old.. WOW! Half a lifetime ago..lol.. I created a Halloween greeting card to send off to family and friends. I designed and hand drew one card, then made copies of them to send off in the mail. My mom has the original and displays it year after year in her home during this time of the year.

2FC864C6-9041-4608-B3B4-CBFAEA2C2E9D.jpeg
Photo & Art by BDMiller

It Sits On A Table ..

Just on the outskirts of the living room. She placed it in a protective picture frame so it may be easily displayed for all to see. One could easily miss and walk by it, but since it has ties to me, I notice it everytime. I can’t help but look at it and remember what it was like to be in my early twenties and how my creative mind has changed since then. My love for Halloween, costumes, spookiness, cool nights, fires, hayrides, pumpkins, and of course CANDY, has not changed much at all. In fact, some may even say that my love of candy has grown.. Hehe.

936B01C6-49C8-4977-A6C8-D320A71FF400.jpeg
Photo & Art by BDMiller

I Tired To Create A Childhood Like Scene ..

With a friendly pumpkin character, a spooky black cat (or not so spooky), a bat, and it would not be complete without a crescent moon. Not full.. That would have been too perfect. Haha. The pumpkin person is out for the evening, hunting down some good treats. Halloween candy is at the top of the list for this happy go lucky character. Cute little shoes, cute little gloved hands, and a candy bag for filling. He is obviously not afraid of cats! Looking at it now, it is kind of a simple design without a lot of depth, but perfect for a greeting card.

No Greeting Card Is Complete Without ..

A catchy phrase, or in this case, a poem to go with it. Here is what I came up with ..

This pumpkin makes a funny face!
His eyes he puts them out of place.
But not to scare you or be mean.
He makes it because it’s Halloween!
Happy Halloween!!

7FCEC34F-75D1-4670-BB04-578171C9D932.jpeg
Photo, Art & Poem by BDMiller

A Few Years Back ..

Mom came across a small pumpin that resembles the one on my greeting card, minus the legs and arms. It was a neat touch to display this next to my work of art. In my mind, it sort of makes him less of a drawing and more of a character in my life. If that makes any sense to you. Now that we are about 10 days away from the goolish day of fright, I want to take a moment to wish you all an early Happy Halloween! If I had some cards left I would send you one (smile smile wink).. Remember to take some time to enjoy the season.. Safely of course!!

A919C943-F80D-411E-946A-6F0ACAEB79FC.jpeg
Photo & Art by BDMiller

This Halloween Post Would Not Be Complete Without ..

A photograph of my Guiness next to a seasonal item like a pumpkin! I did enjoy it :-)

01E1273E-CDCE-4164-92A6-05AE3517C336.jpeg
Photo by BDMiller


If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit. ~ BDMiller

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you bdmillergallery! You've just received an upvote of 47% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Great picture ! I used to draw when I was younger .... but not for years now .... a part of me wishes I continued with it ... now I just find there are not enough hours in the day .

Hehe. True. I can’t seem to find the time to enjoy my hobby. Maybe in retirement.

Hello @bdmillergallery, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55