How To Draw Jack Nicholson-Art Breakdown

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Welcome Steemit community

to another fantastic art tutorial where I will be walking you through the steps I take in making a detailed portrait.

If your looking to hone your artistic ability, check out how a fellow artist works his pieces or even just appreciate looking at the process of art, you are in THE RIGHT PLACE!

Todays subject
Jack Nicholson

"YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!"

jacknicholson.jpg

I always start by trying to make the outlining angles as close to the facial features as possible. make sure to step back from your art piece when finished this step to make sure things are in the right place. This is the most important part of any portrait, you don't want to fly through this part and end up making a mess down the line erasing and re-doing.

1.JPG

add in the darkest shadows on face

2.JPG

then the second darkest shadows

5.JPG

7.JPG

9.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

when creating the beard shade it in entirely with light pencil then use your eraser to create the white hairs

14.JPG

15.JPG

cross hatch the jacket shading

17.JPG

20.JPG

fine tune the contrast and add in the freckles then smooth over the detail with shader for clean finished look.

jacknicholson.jpg

Sorry there wasn't much elaboration for this weeks tutorial. I found myself lost in drawing for hours on this one and forgot about trying to go about it in a way I could teach with. I still managed to take progress shots though, I hope some may see something that helps out there own drawings through them. I will make sure the next weeks portrait is drawn in a manner that will help educate better.
Thanks for checking it out all the same!


Do you enjoy pushing peoples buttons?
If you think that's fun try pushing that up vote button. It's a blast!

All votes help a struggling artist pay for pencils and paper!!!

If you have requests for possible future drawings let me know in the comments, and maybe your suggestion will be next!


Much love for every single person in the Steemit community.
From the minnows to the whales this place wouldn't be what it is today with out you!

Steem On,

Barry F Samways

AAEAAQAAAAAAAATxAAAAJDhiNzI5MzE1LTJlNGYtNGQxNi05Y2RlLWQ5YTFlOTFhNTVkNA.jpg

Sort:  

Great work. ))

got that "look". Well done!

This is cool. I love drawing faces too. What do you think of this drawing I made of Sir Anthony Hopkins?

()

I think you are a wonderful artist well done

Thanks! 😊

Love Love Love it!!!!!! Goodness!! You do all things right :) I want to get you into curie and I know they want additional elaboration on the work .. Jerry's upvotables are a great way for me to get you to curie .. let me know when next weeks is done .. you deserve some goodness from Steemit :) Love you Friend..always be sure and message me when you have a new one out .. I want to visit .. The posts do fly by sometimes and I would hate to miss it :)

your such a doll :) thanks

Don't forget to let me know!!!!

Curie already got cha :) I see he upvoted you -look at you go!!!!! WOW :) They love you!!! SUNSHINE247

@sunshine247 I am blown away right now. You have no idea what that means to me. To finally be getting paid to do what I love, and have people appreciate my efforts. its a dream come true. love how u support me before the big up votes came in to ;D #ilovesteemit

:) Well deserved friend!! Have a GREAT start to your Friday .. I will be working on my negative space drawing tomorrow .. No laughing!! SUNSHINE247

Wow Very realistic. My own portrait look bland compared to this. Sir- You got my attention! 8-D

stick around for my Fundamental Foundations Of Art series if you want some more detailed tips on how I create these! thanks for your support

I get that tracing is your got to technique. Nicely done. Keep doing what you do. Maybe you'll switch to grid drawing technique for presentation purposes.

tracing technique?

I love it. Great job!

thank you! glad you enjoyed

hermoso dibujo te quedo muy bien.

gracias por su apoyo!

Great drawing of a great actor of our time. @barrysamways Keep up the great drawings.

thanks! yeah I was just watching "a few good men" and I was inspired to create this. he's a great for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50