My ART Supplies : Part 2

in #art5 years ago (edited)

1.jpeg

Part 1 includes paint mediums with artworks. If you haven't checked it out, well do so :)


In this one, we'll talk about papers, palettes, brushes, tapes, inks and more. Let's start with small things.

5.jpg

Let's talk about supplies that help in not getting paints where isn't needed. Tapes are used to create a boundary or frame for a painting which is peeled off when paints are all dried up. So I use masking tapes on watercolor sheets because there are usually thick sheets. While for sketchbooks and thin sheets, I prefer washie tapes. The work more smoothly and are of better quality than masking tape but of course, are a bit expensive.

Masking fluid is the liquid that can be used in organic or thin shapes in painting where you don't want paint. These are also peeled off when rubbed. It has a foul smell and should be used in a ventilated area. Check out this painting where I've used it for a better idea.

Pens are very important to me. I love creating illustrations and mandala art. I use technical pens of various thicknesses by Artline and Faber Castell. I find Artline pens smoother. Here are some examples of mandala art.

6.jpeg


Artwork

7.jpg


Artwork

I also use ink in my artworks. Mostly I use black ink by Camlin. Here's an example of it:

8.jpg


Artwork


Paint Brushes

3.jpeg

Over the years I have accumulated brushes of various sizes and lengths. I own brushes by Camlin (green ones), Weldons (wooden ones) and Yipinxuan (black ones). Black ones were longer in length and the pack of 12 included both flat and round ones. I found them expensive and not worth the money. Soon after the purchase, I found some brushes in two parts, a black stick detached from the golden hair part. A few from the same pack works great to date but there were a few defected pieces. The green ones are a set of synthetic hair round brushes and they didn't do well with me. While painting with them, I always find a couple of hair strands in my painting. And I have completely stopped using them. The wooden ones have been the best purchase for me in brushes and have no such complaints with them.


Palettes

4.jpeg

So I have four palettes in total. Three of them are plastic palettes and are great for watercolors. I do have an air-tight palette (left one in the picture) for my acrylic paints as they become completely useless when they dry. I do have a wooden palette which I haven't used so there's that.


Papers and sketchbooks

2.jpeg

Man, this is another huge topic in itself and one where I am not qualified to give advice, so I'll share my experience. Watercolors being my main medium, I usually use cold pressed sheets of various sizes, mostly by Brustro and Canson. I also use white, brown and grey sheets as well. I love to maintain sketchbooks as well and have two A4 and one A5 size by Brustro. I use paints there as well even though sometimes, paint bleeds through the page. But I do loosen up in my sketchbooks so it's fine for me. Recently I bought a dotted notebook for ink illustrations (picture no. 4). Here are some artworks on various sheets.

  1. Sketchbook
  2. Watercolor A5 sheet
  3. Grey Sheet
  4. Brown Sheet

IMG_20190821_172649.jpg

IMG_20190816_130813.jpg

IMG_20180722_095838_124.jpg

IMG_20180526_182725_546.jpg


With this, I wrap up this post. Do share your thoughts and opinions on supplies or any art stuff in the comments below.



See you in the next one.
Be creative :)

Instagram: @ayushi.jain97

Sort:  

This post is manually curated by @dblog.supporter.
dblog logo w white background.jpg

Thank you :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you :)

WooHoo! Little did you know what a hit this would be, @ayushijain. Keep going :)

Haha.. Thank you :)

Everything was in its perfect finished form including your drawings - PERFECTION.

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thank you. I appreciate it :)

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Thank you for your vote :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Hello @ayushijain, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.98
ETH 2460.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62