Crucifixion of lord jesus: Drawing / Painting Process.

in #art7 years ago

Hello everyone. Today I want share with you a creation process of one of my digital illustrations. Last year I was practicing a lot as I had been out of touch with sketching and illustrations for a very long time. That time I really felt that my skills were growing dull as I couldn't draw as good as I used to.

So, I decided to do some practice drawing and record them. This is one of those practices and the images are extracted from the video.

Thumbnail
jesus-thumbnail.jpg

This illustration depicts the Crucifixion of the lord Jesus Christ and mind you, that I haven't used any reference whatsoever for this illustration, however, some would say that the body is too buffed, I do agree with that but still I am quite happy with the final result.

Final Illustration

Jesus.jpg

I will do a digital sculpture of the same. Lets get right into the process.

Step 1

First, I created a very rough and basic shape of the body using the normal round brush.

jesus-christ-step-1.jpg

separator-artlover.png

Step 2

jesus-christ-step-2.jpg

Using the basic drawing as a guide, I created another but slightly detailed body. The brush size I used this time was smaller than before as I wanted this drawing to be more detailed than the previous one.

separator-artlover.png

Step 3

jesus-christ-step-3.jpg

After that I began to draw more detailed forms to get to the next level. Here is the image of the legs with quads, knees and calves completed. I wasn't happy with the right leg.

separator-artlover.png

Step 4

jesus-christ-step-4.jpg

Then, I moved to torso and arms and started adding details to the illustration by drawing small muscles like teres major and serratus anterior. Also, refined the arm a bit.

separator-artlover.png

Step 5

jesus-christ-step-5.jpg

After finishing the torso and the arm, I added a basic head.

separator-artlover.png

Step 6

jesus-christ-step-6.jpg

After head placement, I finally finished drawing the right arm.

separator-artlover.png

Step 7

jesus-christ-step-7.jpg

Moved back to the head as this was the only thing that needed some details. So I laid down the facial features, hair beard and crown of thorns. I had to redraw the face so many times and finally got this one. This could be even better but I thought its not bad for a practice I will cover this up after facial anatomy study.

separator-artlover.png

Step 8

jesus-christ-step-8.jpg

Then I cleaned up the torso a little bit.

separator-artlover.png

Step 9

jesus-christ-step-9.jpg

After that I added a cross. It wasn't hard at all.

separator-artlover.png

Step 10

jesus-christ-step-10.jpg

Then, I moved to more little details like hands and fingers so I added hands and nails.

separator-artlover.png

Step 11

jesus-christ-step-11.jpg

Finally added a cloth to complete the drawing. I wasn't good at drawing clothes but this wasn't that difficult.

separator-artlover.png

Step 12

jesus-christ-step-12.jpg

One more thing that I am bad at - drawing hair. So, I moved back to hair and refined them a bit.

separator-artlover.png

Step 13

jesus-christ-step-13.jpg

After that I added a basic lighting. This light was like it was coming from the main source.

separator-artlover.png

Step 14

jesus-christ-step-14.jpg

Then I added the shadows and added details to the abdominal area.

separator-artlover.png

Step 15

jesus-christ-step-15.jpg

I painted the cross with a dark shade just to add the focus to the main drawing.

separator-artlover.png

Step 16

jesus-christ-step-16.jpg

Refined the beard and mustaches.

separator-artlover.png

Step 17


And this is the final painting / Illustration.

Jesus.jpg

I hope you guys liked it. Tell me your opinion about this illustration in your comments below and Please support me: Upvote, Follow or Resteem. I will be thankful :))) Thank you!!!

Sort:  

this is very impressive, great detailing!


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Thank you so much for the comment @jznsamuel :D :D

congratulations, your post was featured in ocd daily #69 and has gotten some extra votes/views... I'll be featuring it in my Weekly Wrapup too... Keep up the good work :)

I can't thank you enough man, I saw my post there and I am so happy. I really appreciate what you guys are doing. Thank you so much!! :D :D

Great work, nice details!

Thank you carl :))

spotted on @ocd - very good. What equipment did you use? I am a painter (still learning) but have ventured a little into digital painting on a basic asus zenpad but it is very limited. I hope to get a proper digital surface pad and improve. I would like to practice copy your work.

Hello @suzanrs, thank you for you comment :)) Yeah you're right its hard to draw even its a touchpad. I used to draw with mouse, then I got a wacom tablet (One by wacom-Small, model number is CTL 471). It is small but works fine for me. You should get one. It has-

-Pressure sensitive pen tip. (Which you would need for digital painting)
-Battery-free and ergonomic pen with two buttons
-Attached Pen holder for convenient pen storage
-Overall tablets size (8.3 x 5.8 x 0.3 inches)
-Active area size (6 x 3.7 inches)

You did a great job! would love to see a series with the differnt simbols for each religion, like buddha or ganesha and so on :)

Thanks jb, yeah its a great idea and I was thinking the same but I want to create 3d sculptures rather than drawings. Best part of creating 3d is that we can render countless angles of the same design. ;))

love seeing the process as you go, crazy good @artlover
would love to see some colorful work
upvoted and resteemed

Thank you so much for the resteem pal. It was much needed :)) and yeah sure man, even though I am not that good painting things but I will be posting some colorful work very soon. Thanks :D

This is awesomely done! And I am a christian so thank you for sharing :)

Thanks @tezmel Glad you liked the drawing :)) wait for some more time as I will be creating 3d sculpture of the Jesus.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


Nice !
I have one more version of crucifixtion. What do you think ?
@aurumv

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31