"Shhh" by @artistgarybedell including process

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I have always been in love with the psychology of fear. When I am working on a horror illustration, I like tapping into the triggers that dwell within the human psyche--the ones that elicit the most fear and anxiety. It's almost like I am recreating the moment. Not only does this illustration address a common phobia we have as children of monsters living in our closets, it goes one step further, suggesting that perhaps they really do. It reinforces the fear that grown-ups won’t believe what they are unable to see and that we are fundamentally alone. Even as an adult, that still sends a shiver up my spine.

With this illustration, I started with a small, traditional pencil sketch, added a dash of nightmares and fleshed the rest of it out in Photoshop. Of course, no illustration is without it's challenges. With this one in particular, I found conveying the emotion felt by the child difficult, as his face isn’t visible. I was relegated to using body language to tell the story. This is definitely more difficult to do, but it can also be very powerful if executed correctly. I believe I was successful in conveying the complex emotional exchange between the subjects. I am also satisfied with my usage of color, which is integral to weaving together both the visual and emotional aspects of this piece.

When it comes to horror, I often draw inspiration from my own nightmares. I feel like the dreamscapes feed directly into my personal creative vault. Much like Scrooge McDuck swimming in his sea of riches, I have all of these ideas locked away--it's fun to paddle around in them and see what comes to fruition.

Stage 1: Thumbnail
All my ideas start with a thumbnail. This one is 2.5x4.5 inches. Here, I can get the right energy and composition I’m looking for.

Stage 2: Sketching Over Thumbnail
After scanning my thumbnail at 300dpi and scaling it slightly to 5x8 inches, I drop opacity on the thumbnail and sketch on a new layer above.

Stage 3: Basic Lighting
Under my sketch layer, I make a new layer set to “multiply” so I can add shadows. I then make a second layer set to “normal” for light.

Stage 4: Paintover Large Thumbnail
On a new layer, I begin refining the lighting and adding details. With my brush opacity set to 65%.

Stage 5: Expanding Image and adding Values
By up scaling the image to 11x17 inches at 300dpi, I’m able to add more details on a new layer. Then add and adjust a “multiply” layer for more shadows.

Stage 6: Colors
To set the mood, I use solid dark blue behind the illustration that is set to “multiply”. Once my palette is chosen, I complete base colors for all the objects.

Stage 7: Paintover
On top on a new layer, I use the same dark blue to bring out the coolness (temperature). This is also helps push the composition.

Stage 8: Finishing Up:
This is where I add the final details and adjust the brightness to my liking.

finished version

Thank You for viewing :)

Sort:  

Really good, I can't draw but love to see others work :)

This is awesome. It is always fascinating to see the artistic process. Thank you for sharing:)

Thank you thecryptofiend. I always felt that it's good to show how I do things so it's not a complete mystery to others.

Great to see the process of making this, thanks for sharing.

Damn freaky. I appreciate you sharing your efforts and the process. You succeeded in scaring my pants off.

Great work as always, @artistgarybedell. Upvoted and followed.

Congratulations @artistgarybedell! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @artistgarybedell! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @artistgarybedell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50