My First Steemit Post - Freddy Krueger Redesign by artist Gary Bedell

in #art8 years ago

My First Steemit Post

Freddy Krueger Redesign by @artistgarybedell!


full size image

I recently heard a rumor that Kevin Bacon could be...possibly...kind of interested in taking on the role of Freddy Krueger, one of my most favorite cinematic psychos, in New Line’s purported upcoming remake. As a fan of both Mr. Bacon and the Elm Street franchise, the inkling was enough to get my wheels turning...and you know how dangerous that can be.

I started noodling around with concepts for Freddy’s character design, as seen through my own particular filter. While drawing inspiration from previous versions of the character and the countenance and physical stature of the Bacon-ator, I knew I wanted my version of Freddy to be a bit more ghoulish and corpse-like than his predecessors, but still retain some of the basic elements that give Freddy his flair. I felt like I needed to “Make Freddy Scary Again” (how’s that for a political slogan?) I wanted to make the character even more difficult to look at by adding more tissue decomposition and disfigurement. I also added a rather crudely made prosthetic arm that is just a bit too big and is fashioned out of old metal scraps attached to a carved-out wooden plank, rather than the traditional glove with blades. Of course, I kept the stripes! Some things just don’t need to be tampered with.

Basically, I wanted to maintain the mythology of Freddy Krueger, while also having some fun putting my own spin on things. I’m pretty happy with the results.

HUGE Shout Out to @sykochica @winstonwolfe and @giftedgaia !!


Thank you for viewing below are links to my official website, Facebook, and Instagram.
http://www.artistgarybedell.com
http://www.facebook.com/artistgarybedell
http://www.instagram.com/artistgarybedell

Sort:  

Very original, yet recognizable. Kudos!

Thank you. Maintaining that balance was very important while creating this.

I wondered when I'd see you pop up.
Welcome aboard. It's good to see you. :)

You too. I can't wait to share more knowledge and work with the steemit community.

I'm so excited for you to finally be on steemit @artistgarybedell! I can't wait to see you show off your talent!

All thanks to yourself, Gaia, and Winston :)

Welcome to Steemit! Helluvan intro! I like the prosthetic arm over the old clawed glove, a rather fitting touch!

Thank you so much. Freddy is a very challenging character to recreate so to see fans react to this positively is a bonus for sure.

What's up GARY FREAKING BEDELL!!! Glad to see you online via this webplace my friend! (your pal - Jason Deal)

OOOOOOHHHH WHAT IS UUUPPP!! I'm finally on here. I'm really looking forward to sharing more content on here.

Yay I'm so pleased you decided to join, I loved the piece that @sykochica posted a while back.
Freddie looks great, although I have to ask, was he scary to begin with?

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66