"Art is not about selling, but about having something to say that´s worth telling"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is the true story of how the artist can never win if they decide to enter and play the game called "art".
For in this game, even if  artist becomes a financial success,
they still lose.

This has lead to a movement were artists are opting out of this "art game" in an attempt rediscover the real meaning of art.

Such artists are realizing that art is not a game but in fact a journey. These artists are called "Pilgrim Painters"
I class myself as one them. 

From the very beginning there as always been snobbery in the art world and as such to be able to get your work shown in a gallery, or to be accepted in the so called "art world" has always been very difficult. 

You either need to have come from a well connected university, or you have connections in the industry itself.
The art world has an agenda, and if you do not fit in with this agenda then you simply will not be seen. You must play the game or you will get nowhere.



Anyone can become an artist. In fact everyone is born an artist.
"Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up".
Pablo Picasso .

Becoming an artist is not the problem.
It is when you want to live as an artist is when it comes difficult.

Beginners entering into this "earning a living" stage are almost always encouraged by friends and family who usually buy their work to show support.
After this they are usually encouraged to have an exhibition at the local library or perhaps a local cafe/restaurant.  They might sell some work but the prices they get for their work will not break anyone´s bank balance.
And as long as the fledgling artist is happy with getting low prices, then everything is OK.



However, if the fledgling artist is really serious then comes the next stage: 

Getting your foot in the door of an established gallery.

Suddenly the fledgling artist has to sell to people who do not know who they are and their prices are now much higher.
Now is the time the new artist finds out if their work is of any real value, I mean of value in the cold judgemental world of art and money.
Now is the time when the fledgling artist experiences the bitter sweet taste of success or the bitter sweet taste of rejection. But, as I aim to show, either way they still lose.
For their success or failure is based on one thing?
How many paintings they sold / how much money the gallery owner made from selling their work

Now comes the first bitter taste of their first experience in the art game.

If the new artist did not sell very well, or even sold nothing, then they can pretty much kiss their career goodbye before it has even started, because within a day or so, word will have gotten around and no gallery will ever touch them.

On the other hand, if they actually sold everything, then the artist suddenly realizes that 50% of their income goes to the galley owner. At first, agreeing to this does not seem so bad because the fledgling artist is usually happy just to have the opportunity to have an exhibition. But when you actually experience this, trust me you never forget it.

One might say, "Well the gallery owner has to make money too".  
Sure I agree, but let´s just continue down the path a little more of the successful fledgling artist and see what happens.

And so now our new artist is over the shock of their debut "sold out" exhibition. So what next?

Well now our fledgling artist has some money in bank but now they have no more paintings.
The work that they have just sold has taken tremendous emotional effort and no doubt taken a year or so of solid hard work to create. So now they find themselves back at square one of the game having to start from scratch.
And the money they made from their first exhibition will have to last them until they have completed their next body of work, which again could take another two years.
However, while they are trying to do this the gallery owner is constantly on the phone demanding more "of the same style work."

Now you know why the galleries are full of art that looks quick and easy to make.
"My daughter could make that!"

Then two things happen that our new star artist did not expect.

Being a creative person I should imagine our fledgling artist got into art because they had a creative spirit.
However, now they find themselves in the position of making the same stuff over and over again. So now they are no longer an creative person but a production machine who is simply churning out work in order to sell.

Well at least you are making a living right?
True, but can someone tell me what is the difference between this and just selling shares on the stockmarket?

Then three or four years down the line the gallery who represents you suddenly says:
"Oh sorry your style is no longer popular. There is a new person on the block.
I hope you invested your money wisely. Good bye and have a good life"

The art world is full of artists stories like this who are all bitter and angry. If they are lucky, they may have made a little bit of money but even so they feel disillusioned and cheated.

Only a handful of artists have managed to come out of this system and become super wealthy.
Some artists play the art game well, but later admit they become creatively dissatisfied and wonder what it was all about.
Their work sells but their art has no meaning. It has no meaning because they have lost that first creative feeling that lead then to being an artist in the first place. They might have money but inside their hearts are bleeding.

This is the art world that I know and have experienced first hand, and it the reason why I decided to get out of the whole "game" and re-look at what art was really about.

The real problem lies in that there has been a gradual deterioration in the understanding of what makes a work or art, a work of art. 

Many great art critics/historians, such as the Robert Hughes, who were never in it for the money, but because they genuinely loved art. Hughes understood what art was about and what it meant for the development of the human race. I know this because I met him when I was an art student back in 1982.



When Hughes died in 2012, his passing left a big hole in the art world, and without his guiding voice, art lost its direction, and even worse, its meaning.

Now the super rich art collectors were left to do with art whatever they wanted.
And what they did was to turn art into a game that only the rich can play with the artists themselves being the pawns that are readily sacrificed.
In this way they have corrupted what was once pure.
Rather like an amateur scientist messing around with the DNA just for the fun of it.
The result being creations of horror, a freak of nature, or a joke.
Thus the art world is in a total mess. 

The artist today has only two choices. 

(1) -Play the game and make art that they know will sell so that they can at least make a living.
Gallery owners love this kind of artist because they just want to make money.
This OK if this is what you want. But in my view you are no artist and your work is not art but a commodity and has no more meaning than that of decoration.
You will probably have some fun along the way, but not much. You might get some money at the end but eventually the cash cow runs dry and you are left as an empty person with some money in the bank. But the worst of all, is that the day always comes when you see a real artist work or art that blows you away and you feel envious and cheated. I have witnessed this happen with my own eyes.

(2) -Dedicate their lives to creating true original art never knowing if their work will be liked, accepted or can make a living from it. This usually means years of hard work developing skills, experimenting with colors, trying out ideas, designs and so on. Some of these might work but most will not.
Then, after years of dedication with virtually no income, they may one day make a break through and produce something quite new. At that moment their lives are filled with spiritual creative energy that I feel certain somehow goes out into the world and changes it for the better. I dont know exactly how it does this but I know it does.

Every great artist in history has dedicated their lives to their craft. Nothing has ever come easy. We now know from newly discovered documentation that it was not easy even for Michaelangelo. He too worked very hard to be able to create what he did.
If the artist to day truly wishes to make great art they must try to walk along side the footsteps of the giants but not in them. They must make their own path but be guided by the integrity of when art and artist were once pure.
For all of us make a unique footprint as we live out our lives.
In this way, art and life is a journey.



I heard about the slow movement of "Pilgrim Painters" whose aim was to restore the integrity of art once again and I was moved to join it.
Below is a short film telling about the Pilgrim artist movement and of my own work that I creative today which is in line with the spirit of this movement.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

"Art is not about selling, but about having something to say that´s worth telling"
Arthur Adamson

Thank you for reading my post and for visiting my blog.
I wish you warm welcome back next time



Sort:  


Hi @arthuradamson, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thanks. nice to know, appreciated. Great job you are doing.
Actually when the new changes come in your post will suddenly become very valuable, but I suppose you know that.
Cheers

hadn't really considered that my posts will be impacted by them. I just do what I do. :)

you are right about so many aspects of the art world and being an artist! cheers to making great work and not playing the game and somehow making good money at it anyway!

Thank you so much, that was a very nice thing to say and much appreciated.

I'm reccommending this - and steemit for that matter - to an artist friend who is always inspiring, posting about their work and the struggle and hard-fought accomplishments as a self-tought painter and multitalented artist. via FB.

Excellent, good to hear. Your friend sounds an like interesting guy.
Thanks @adamthor

Thank you.
For your post and sharing your story.
This is what I appreciate about steemit.

Appreciate reply man,
I know what you mean with regards to Steemit. So cool.

Exceptional and interesting post. I have experienced the snobbery. It can be discouraging. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Keep strong and hold onto your integrity and you will be fine.
Thanks for responding.

You're welcome. Great advice. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Excellent post. I've always remained true to my art, been in and out of major art galleries, and now do my best to sell my own work. You're right: I know many sell-out "artists" who are very wealthy but I don't respect them very much. Which is more important: money or art? It's a choice. At the same time, I've sold many paintings so it can be done to retain integrity and sell.

I agree and it warms my heart know that there are artists out there who manage to keep their integrity in themselves and thus in their work. For such artists I have the greatest respect for and admire.
I have nothing against artists selling their work. Indeed I want artists to make a decent living for their tremendous effort and talent. This is only right. But the money should be a side benefit of their joy not the basis for it.
Those who can balance this are few but as you say it can be done.
It is the game that the super rich and the leeching gallery art dealers that I have a beef about lol!
I too have no problem selling my work but I only sell to those who genuinely love and respect my work. They must have a glint in their eye lol, or they never get their hands on it.
I once turned down $30.000 dollars for one of my paintings from an art dealer from New York who was an avid Picasso collector. He was furious that I said no. He was just a horrible materialistic person and there was not way I was going to let him have it.
Thanks for responding and good to hear you are a genuine creative how has kept their soul. Good luck to you and dont change. Art needs artists like yourself who keep to the true path. Cheers!

At 66 and a professional for 45 years, I doubt I'll change now! 😉

Good art is appreciated by a few and sometimes even purchased!

One way an artist can sell - and has worked for me several times - is to have an art party where the artist shows about 20 of his works on an easel one at a time (under good lighting), relates the story behind each piece, what he was trying to say, or whatever else might be interesting. This is best done in someone's home, preferably one of the artist's collectors who has many contacts who they invited to attend. The conditions have to be right, but it can really be a success.

I've never thought of selling seriously' as in making a business of it, but your artical planted the seed!

OK, well the best of luck to you.
Thanks for the reply

I'm going to try selling some pieces at our festivals here in Tulsa ...nothing big or fancy. Buying s spot is not very spendy.

Art festivals are a very good place to start because you usually get genuine art interested people there and there usually a lot of activity. Good luck.

Thank you, the thought of having people look at my art in flesh-time gives me butterflies in my stomach.

That´s quite normal and something every artist goes through. This is why it is a brave thing to be an artist. You put yourself and your soul out there for all to judge and of course that it a scary thing.
If you believe in your work and it means something to you then it will for others too. Art breaks though barriers simply because you have let your own barriers down by simply by sharing it.
Be brave.
Once the shock is over you will be filled with positive energy and at that point you become an artist.
Please let me know how it goes.
Please let me know h

Oh you made me tear up! You got to the heart of my fears, I will report back this summer❤

good analysis. but something is changing. (don't know exactly how) :)

Yes I agree, things are changing I have noticed that myself. And it is one for the positive too. Thanks for responding.

An outstanding and poignant post... lots of valuable truth here.

I've got a creative outlet, but I'd hardly call myself an artist; but I do always put the creative-- and the underlying reasons for the creativity (the "story")-- ahead of commercial considerations.

That said, I also owned and ran an art and fine crafts gallery for 15 years when I lived in Texas; now my wife and I have a much smaller and more "alternative" gallery here in Washington state. The political nonsense is interesting because we have distanced ourselves from the "main street gallery politics" of our smallish town and just do our own thing... which is to promote authentic artistic expression (within the parameters of our particular style) while also guiding our stable of some 40-odd artist not on "content;" but on how to best present their authenticity for "public consumption." As in, being an artist doesn't excuse you from remembering to sign your work, having a proper bio, bringing us "fresh" (no shopworn) work and so on.

Great post.

Great reply and very good points.
I should have mentioned this in my post in that it is usually the smaller town galleries who are decent and are into art for the right reasons and they usually help artists on their books.
Of course I was really referring to some of the main big city galleries in London, New York etc where there are some ruthless dealings going on there.
Even here in my own city of Oslo there are many sharks around whom I have been bitten by one or two of them myself.
With regards to Texas I only have a good feeling about it. Not that I have been there but because a few years back a wealthy art collector from Texas came into my gallery and she was really nice. She mainly collected well known artists and actually owned a few works by Picasso and also Cezanne. Apparently her family owned "a small oil well" of which she showed me pictures of. She bought one of my paintings and later sent me photo of it hanging next to a Picasso lol!
I dont know about Texas folk but she was a lovely person.
I congratulate you on keeping your integrity in a world that can be really ruthless. It warms my heart to hear your story.
Really appreciate it and has made my day.
Cheers to you and your partner.

An interesting insight, definitely some food for thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09