Sketching On The Graveyard Shift- A Collection of Portrait Sketches

in #art7 years ago

I'm Sketching While You're Sleeping


Here is a collection of sketches I did several years ago while working the graveyard shift at a gas station in Rochester. Usually by the time business would slow down I had already completed my nightly duties. So that left a few hours of absolutely nothing happening in the store before the morning rush would show up other than helping a few stragglers through the night. Then with nothing left to do besides over organize and over clean I would find something to sketch. I'm just saying, I had more than a few complaints from management that our displays were getting a little too artsy.

Most of the time I would just grab a dvd off the rack in front of the counter or a newspaper and start drawing. These sketches were all done with a pen from start to finish on either receipt paper or in a sketch book. Starting with pen makes me draw a lot different, a lot more measuring. Normally if I am drawing with a pencil I will kinda feel out the shapes since there is no pressure to put it all in the right spot from the start. With a pen I measure everything first....you know? like you're supposed to.

Stragglers in the Night


It was always interesting to see the reactions when the middle of the night stragglers would come in and see me drawing. You wouldn't believe how many people would walk in and see me drawing then ask, "Did you draw that?" . This always made me wonder: Is it common for people to stand over the top of a drawing someone else made with a pen pretending to draw? I would always say yes, but what I really wanted to say was, "Nah man, I'm just scratching this drawing someone else did with this pen because it told me it was itchy."

Old people always crack me up with their carefree filterless speech. I remember one old man came in one night and said, " So, you're and artist huh?"

I replied, " Yes sir. On some days."

He looked up at me with a half cocked smile and said, "Well, you're obviously not any good at it or you wouldn't be working here... Let me get two packs of Marlboro Reds."

Daaaaaammnn! The entire rest of the night I was thinking about that. Pretty sure I didn't even draw the rest of the night. I just kept thinking about how savage that old man was.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy these sketches, and if you have any questions please let me know in the comments.


If you enjoyed this post I hope you upvote, resteem, and follow me. Comment with any insights, suggestions, questions, or complaints.



Fluid Paintings Round 3 (with video)


W.I.P.- Oil Paint Portrait I am Working On


Migraine Madness- A Series of Oil Paintings Portraying Migraines


Fluid Paintings Round 2 (With Video)


Abstract Explosionism- Painting With Guns (With Video)


Fluid Paintings Round 1 (With Video)


Picking the Best Photo for Your Portrait Painting


 

Sort:  

The 3rd pic looks like Bruce Willis, the 4th one seems t/b Will Ferrell (the comedian); am I right?

ANYHOW, I found it funny when u remarked, "I would always say yes, but what I really wanted to say was, "Nah man, I'm just scratching this drawing someone else did with this pen because it told me it was itchy." <== Too hilarious !

And the bit about that old man where u said, " I remember one old man came in one night and said, " So, you're and artist huh?"

I replied, " Yes sir. On some days."

He looked up at me with a half cocked smile and said, "Well, you're obviously not any good at it or you wouldn't be working here.."

YEAH Right ! This old fart probably could NOT even conceive of us being able to make $$money through an Online Venture, such as #STEEMIT ! It's kinda great, though, ain't it?

Keep Up w/ your antics, yr #Humor and yr drawing . JAN ♥

Yes. Nailed it. Bruce Willis and Will Ferrell.

Yeah that old man was a trip. People say stuff like that a lot. Seems like someone somewhere is always trying to mess with my vibe. Lol

He isn't the only one that couldn't conceive. My stepdad thinks artists and content creators are no different than people standing by the road asking for money. Lol It's pretty funny when i think about the comparison. He and a several others where I grew up can't wrap their head around why anyone would want it. They see no demand and no service. That perspective seems that it would make a dull life.

Thank you for your remarks and the resteem. Have a great day @janashby

You're welcome.
SEE ya later!

waw! these are all really good! also kudos on your writing, interesting encounter with the old bitter man... I wonder how much disillusion one must go through before they stop caring about their impact on others...

Thank you. I need to get back to my sketching. Lately I have been having so much fun playing with paint that my sketchbook just hasn't got much attention. :)

Fantastic drawing! I really like your cross-hatch style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54