Photo Realism- Why I Am Done Simply "Recording" Images

in #art7 years ago

Realism's Fading Glory


All the time I spent growing up and learning how to draw my main focus was on recreating a reference photo as accurately as possible. Since that journey started I have realized that methodology wouldn't help me create the type of art that I really enjoyed.

It was about 15 hours into drawing this picture when I realized that I didn't give a damn about aiming for realism as the main goal anymore. I realized I found the pursuit and final product boring and without exploration.

Still, I worked this drawing, with no passion, everyday for a while before I finally decided I was done working on this picture and quit a little over half way through. I was done even if the drawing was not. I started thinking that if my goal was to create a copy of this reference photo then why not just print the reference photo and be done.


New Love Affair


My newfound love of paint probably had something to do with this departure from "recording" images. Painting, once I figured out the basics, turned my attention to the inherent properties of the medium, the character of the paint itself, and the happenings of the process.

Then, as I explored the art that I really enjoyed, I found that color interaction, texture, and creatively order chunks of visual information is what I loved. I learned I was more interested in the painting process showing than creating believable images.

I am not saying that realism is a poor goal. From a training standpoint, it is the standard by which you judge your technical abilities. I am just saying that I feel I have personally outgrown it. So if you are an artist that deals only in realism don't take this as a stab at your craft. Do your thing...


If you enjoyed this post I hope you upvote, resteem, and follow me. Comment with any insights, suggestions, questions, or complaints.



Fluid Paintings Round 3 (with video)


W.I.P.- Oil Paint Portrait I am Working On


Migraine Madness- A Series of Oil Paintings Portraying Migraines


Fluid Paintings Round 2 (With Video)


Abstract Explosionism- Painting With Guns (With Video)


Fluid Paintings Round 1 (With Video)


Picking the Best Photo for Your Portrait Painting


 

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @art-mess to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Congratulations @art-mess! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think it was Picasso who said, you have to be able to draw a line before you can break it.

Well, Picasso definitely makes more sense to me now than when I was younger. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28