Making a STEEM symbol minimalist Card Wallet. A PHOTO BLOG. Leather Art and Craft by @armadilloman

in #art7 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCING the STEEM 3 pocket Card Wallet!


This last week I had two leather embossing plates made, one with the STEEM logo and one with the word STEEMIT.  Here is a step by step photo breakdown of my first test item I made using those plates.    


The embossing plates are made of plastic, created with a laser engraving machine and cost about $50 each to have made.


First step to making a wallet is to cut some 3-4 oz vegetable tanned cowhide and mark it off for the sized pieces I need with reference marks so that I can get the STEEM design centered.


After dampening the leather with a sponge, I take it and the embossing plate to my 20 ton press (which is about 15 tons overkill) to press the design into the leather.  The fibers of the dampened leather compress together under the weight and an impression is left.  Because it is tanned for this, the impression stays after the leather dries.


After the leather is embossed and dry I apply some color to serve as the undertones.


The next step is to apply some "Hi Lite" stain that will settle into the impression.  The excess is removed with a wet paper towel when the stain is dry.


A first coat of acrylic finish is applied and then four parts are cut out: two front pockets and the taller middle pocket pieces. The top edge scoop is cut and finished before  the parts for the two sides are glued together and a stitching groove is cut around the edge.


Holes are punched around the two pieces in the stitching groove with a diamond point stitching chisel.


Next step is to glue the two sides together and start sewing the wallet with a waxed thread using double needles.  


When the wallet is all stitched up. the edges are sanded, dyed and burnished using a Dremel with a burnishing tool.  

The finished card wallet will hold 6 cards now, 8 when it is broken in.  What do you think?



There are lots of possibilities of what could be made with either the STEEM symbol or embossed with the word STEEMIT.  Key case, phone case, hat, billfold, belt.  Comment below what you would like to see me make.



I will be giving this wallet away to one of my followers soon, so make sure follow me to get the latest. Ask me any questions about this project or leatherwork in general.



Listen to Wanda Petronski: "If you want to see more of this kind of content from @armadilloman, please upvote and resteem this post!"



Updated to add:  Want to win this wallet?  Giveaway details are here..

https://steemit.com/contest/@armadilloman/contest-giveaway-steem-symbol-minimalist-card-wallet-giveaway-contest



Sort:  

This is a great product!
How much does it cost to make?

Oh, not much in materials, its all labor. On Etsy I would charge about $35 for a tooled card wallet. Haven't thought about outside that marketplace.

Alright!
Let me know if you will consider accepting steem or SBD one of these days ;-)

$35???- I'll easily pay $50 worth of STEEM or SBD for one of those!

That is amazing! Suddenly my pocket feels incomplete.....

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

amazing idea sir! you blow my mind!

Your craftsmanship is incredible! These wallets are pieces of art, I'm blown away by how beautiful they are, and the work you've put into them. Really, really nice work, @armadilloman !

I have been a carpenter, sculptor, draftsman...but I always come back to leather, for its challenge (it is a very unforgiving medium) and its utility. Leather items age with handling, use, which is another fascinating part of it.

You do well with it. You are an artist, these are just spectacular wallets! Please let us know when you get your Etsy shop re-opened, I predict that you are going to have more business than you can handle!

Thank you @seaslim. I already have more business then I can handle. I have been making something north of 300 items a year for a couple years now.

Amazing stuff. I really hope this takes off. 😁

real nice as always man! that stitching chisel is a new one for me, never knew they existed, must save a load of time punching individual holes eh!
if you havent already, you should tag @slothicorn. theyre looking for crypto inspired art, this fits the bill i reckon https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@slothicorn/how-to-earn-crypto-for-your-art-slothicorn-for-dummies

Nice hand crafted wallet, these things take time to make. Thanks for taking time to share this. I didn't know plates can be made from plastic, looks like 3d plastic printer made the mold.

beautiful craftsmanship.... i would love one for my son.

I appreciate that @thewayiseeit I will get more made in a few weeks. When I get caught up with the hat, 4 wallets and eyepatch orders that i am behind at the moment.

Amazing work! Not only in making the wallet which looks great, but also high quality photos and good explanation of the process. Thanks for sharing :)

I have been taking process pictures of everything I make so I can do some more of these kinds of things if folks enjoy.

Thats nice, I really enjoy seeing the process of how things are made, so looking forward to seeing more!

@leanvix I have photos taken of making of two different eyepatches, two different wallets and a hat, so I have plenty of posting options when I get the time. So stay tuned!

Sounds great, can't wait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59